Author |
Message
|
robbinn |
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:54 am Post subject: MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
Hi all.
I am running a test that test that the MQ7.5 raises an error 2085 when trying to write reply message to a queue that does not exist.
The test works on MQ6 and error is raised but in MQ7.5 nothing is raised and it seems that I can write to a queue that does not exist.
I am not sure if this is a MQ issue or if my code is not handling the behavior of MQ7.5 right.
What happens to reply messages that are written to a queue that does not exist?
Thanks all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
It depends on where the queue that doesn't exist doesn't exist on.
that is, if you write code to send a message to a ReplyToQueue AND a ReplyToQueue Manager (as you properly should), and the replytoqmgr resolves to a transmit queue, the message will ALWAYS get put on the transmit queue.
If, after the message arrives at that queue manager, the queue doesn't exist, then it will go to the DLQ on that queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:28 am Post subject: Re: MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
robbinn wrote: |
The test works on MQ6 and error is raised but in MQ7.5 nothing is raised and it seems that I can write to a queue that does not exist.  |
Are you sure these installations have the same queue manager topology? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
robbinn |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? |
This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.
I found some doc about the behavior here: http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.csqzal.doc%2Ffg15890_.htm
But in each case it should send error message to the console.
Last edited by robbinn on Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:09 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
robbinn wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? |
This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised. |
And your code doesn't just check for some known errors and swallow the non checked for errors? Seems surprising to me that you would have found a bug no body else had reported yet...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
robbinn |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
robbinn wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? |
This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised. |
And your code doesn't just check for some known errors and swallow the non checked for errors? Seems surprising to me that you would have found a bug no body else had reported yet...  |
I am not saying that this is a bug.
This could be a configuration issue on the manager, channel or the queues for all I know. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
robbinn wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? |
This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.
|
Wait a sec. Your OP indicated that the local queue did not exist; and now you are saying the queue does exist, and is on the same server. Which is it?
Please post the queue definition here.
Please post your code that opens this queue here.
Please post the entire conversation where you execute the app, and it produces the 2085 r/c. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
robbinn |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
robbinn wrote: |
bruce2359 wrote: |
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue? |
This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.
|
Wait a sec. Your OP indicated that the local queue did not exist; and now you are saying the queue does exist, and is on the same server. Which is it?
Please post the queue definition here.
Please post your code that opens this queue here.
Please post the entire conversation where you execute the app, and it produces the 2085 r/c. |
Sorry for the confusion, the test is about trying to write a reply message to a queue that does not exist.
After trying manually to put a message to a queue that does not exist and run sample program that does the same, I get this error. But the code that works on mq6 does not work the same on mq7.
Unfortunately I can not post any code on this forum. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
robbinn wrote: |
Unfortunately I can not post any code on this forum. |
Thus far, you have not answered with any specifics. Try harder.
Is the type of reply-to-queue you are testing with a QLocal? Is it a QModel?
Are you using the same executable? Or did you recompile?
Have you run a trace to see exactly where the apparent failure (or success) occurs? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
The URL you cited is for z/OS. Are you having this problem on WMQ for z/OS? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
robbinn |
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Another reason why when using syncpoint you should always do an explicit commit.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
robbinn |
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Sep 2012 Posts: 8
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Another reason why when using syncpoint you should always do an explicit commit.  |
Well I am actually doing that, but the commit also returns OK msg.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Pedantically that's the wrong link. You posted about WMQv7.5 but that link is the WMQv7.1 InfoCenter. The correct link (for the record) is this, which is of course identical & supports your point. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|