ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
robbinn
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:54 am    Post subject: MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

Hi all.

I am running a test that test that the MQ7.5 raises an error 2085 when trying to write reply message to a queue that does not exist.

The test works on MQ6 and error is raised but in MQ7.5 nothing is raised and it seems that I can write to a queue that does not exist.

I am not sure if this is a MQ issue or if my code is not handling the behavior of MQ7.5 right.

What happens to reply messages that are written to a queue that does not exist?

Thanks all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

It depends on where the queue that doesn't exist doesn't exist on.

that is, if you write code to send a message to a ReplyToQueue AND a ReplyToQueue Manager (as you properly should), and the replytoqmgr resolves to a transmit queue, the message will ALWAYS get put on the transmit queue.

If, after the message arrives at that queue manager, the queue doesn't exist, then it will go to the DLQ on that queue manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:28 am    Post subject: Re: MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

robbinn wrote:
The test works on MQ6 and error is raised but in MQ7.5 nothing is raised and it seems that I can write to a queue that does not exist.


Are you sure these installations have the same queue manager topology?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbinn
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.

I found some doc about the behavior here: http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.csqzal.doc%2Ffg15890_.htm

But in each case it should send error message to the console.


Last edited by robbinn on Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

robbinn wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.


And your code doesn't just check for some known errors and swallow the non checked for errors? Seems surprising to me that you would have found a bug no body else had reported yet...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
robbinn
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

fjb_saper wrote:
robbinn wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.


And your code doesn't just check for some known errors and swallow the non checked for errors? Seems surprising to me that you would have found a bug no body else had reported yet...


I am not saying that this is a bug.
This could be a configuration issue on the manager, channel or the queues for all I know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

robbinn wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.


Wait a sec. Your OP indicated that the local queue did not exist; and now you are saying the queue does exist, and is on the same server. Which is it?

Please post the queue definition here.

Please post your code that opens this queue here.

Please post the entire conversation where you execute the app, and it produces the 2085 r/c.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbinn
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

bruce2359 wrote:
robbinn wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.


Wait a sec. Your OP indicated that the local queue did not exist; and now you are saying the queue does exist, and is on the same server. Which is it?

Please post the queue definition here.

Please post your code that opens this queue here.

Please post the entire conversation where you execute the app, and it produces the 2085 r/c.


Sorry for the confusion, the test is about trying to write a reply message to a queue that does not exist.
After trying manually to put a message to a queue that does not exist and run sample program that does the same, I get this error. But the code that works on mq6 does not work the same on mq7.

Unfortunately I can not post any code on this forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

robbinn wrote:

Unfortunately I can not post any code on this forum.

Thus far, you have not answered with any specifics. Try harder.

Is the type of reply-to-queue you are testing with a QLocal? Is it a QModel?

Are you using the same executable? Or did you recompile?

Have you run a trace to see exactly where the apparent failure (or success) occurs?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

robbinn wrote:
bruce2359 wrote:
Was the reply-to-queue the app opened a local to the qmgr? Or did the reply message need to traverse a channel to get to the reply-to-queue?


This is a local queue on the same server. This is just a basic test to see if the error is raised.

I found some doc about the behavior here: http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.csqzal.doc%2Ffg15890_.htm

But in each case it should send error message to the console.

The URL you cited is for z/OS. Are you having this problem on WMQ for z/OS?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robbinn
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

This is solved.
This is a behavior by design. Good or not.
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.doc%2Fmi20270_.htm

Thanks for the reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

robbinn wrote:
This is solved.
This is a behavior by design. Good or not.
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.doc%2Fmi20270_.htm

Thanks for the reply.

Another reason why when using syncpoint you should always do an explicit commit.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
robbinn
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 06 Sep 2012
Posts: 8

fjb_saper wrote:
robbinn wrote:
This is solved.
This is a behavior by design. Good or not.
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.doc%2Fmi20270_.htm

Thanks for the reply.

Another reason why when using syncpoint you should always do an explicit commit.


Well I am actually doing that, but the commit also returns OK msg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

robbinn wrote:
This is solved.
This is a behavior by design. Good or not.
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.doc%2Fmi20270_.htm


Pedantically that's the wrong link. You posted about WMQv7.5 but that link is the WMQv7.1 InfoCenter. The correct link (for the record) is this, which is of course identical & supports your point.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » MQ7.5 does not raise error 2085 in test
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.