ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Ant Script hanging while creating the bar file

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Ant Script hanging while creating the bar file « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:22 am    Post subject: Ant Script hanging while creating the bar file Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

Hi All,

I am a developing an ant script that gets the message flows/message sets artifacts from VSS to a working folder which I set it up in the ant script and builds the bar file from there. I am abale to build the bar file successfully, however, the script hangs.. what that means is...after building the bar file, I am expecting that I get the control back in the comman line window so that I can execute some other command which does not happen. Whenever, I am running the ant script on my windows machine in the task manager I see two java.exe files one with less memory ~22MB and the other with more memory ~220MB.

I guess, I have some problem with my exec statement in my script.

below is a part of my script

Code:
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}/mqsicreatebar.exe">     
       <arg value="-cleanBuild" />
       <arg value="-data" />
       <arg value="${workspace.home}" />
       <arg value="-b" />
       <arg value="${bar.name}" />
       <arg value="-p" />
       <arg value="MFP_Changed_TK_Settings" />
      <arg value="MSP_Changed_TK_Settings" />
       <arg value="-o" />
       <arg value="MFP_Changed_TK_Settings\MF_Changed_TK_Settings.msgflow" />
      <arg value="MSP_Changed_TK_Settings\MS_Changed_TK_Settings\messageSet.mset" />
     </exec>
     <echo message="Completed building Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />


After it builds the bar (which it is doing), I was expecting the echo statement which I have after the </exec> statement, however, it just hangs up and when I kill the java.exe process consuming the high memory ~220MB I get the below text on my command prompt (which I am expecting as soon as the bar is built) and the control comes back to me so that I can execute a another command.

Code:
     [exec] Result: 1
     [echo] Completed building Broker Archive file - C:\Ant\182\src\De
ployable\TestBar.bar

BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 1 minute 38 seconds


My toolkit version is 7.0.0.1

Could someone help me what I should do in order to get rid of this high memory consumption and ant script ganging?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

there are a few issues with 7.0.0.1 that you should really update to a newer level.

You should confirm that that the bar file really is built completely when you do your manual kill - I suspect that mqsicreatebar is just taking much longer to run than you expect it to!

See if it runs quicker without the -cleanBuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

Remove the "cleanbuild" option.

Here is a paragraph that works for me:

Code:
       <exec executable="${toolkit.home}/mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false">
          <arg value="-data" />
          <arg value="${workspaces.dir}" />
          <arg value="-b" />
          <arg value="${bar9.name}" />
          <!--  <arg value="-cleanBuild" />  -->
          <arg value="-p" />
          <arg value="ProjectName" />
         <arg value="${ProjectNameBar9_mset_project}" />
          <arg value="-o" />
          <arg value="${target_mflow_path}/${target_mflow_9}" />
         <arg value="${target_mset_path}/${target_mset_9}" />
       </exec>


Clean build hangs the mqsicreatebar utility. Also, mqsicreatebar hangs with WTX flows. There is an apar you can apply to correct the WTX issue.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

Hi mqjeff,

Thanks for your response. I have tried using the V6 toolkit mqsicreatebar command i.e,... I specified the V6 toolkit installation C:\Program Files\IBM\WMBT610 for toolkit.home and tried building the bar and I successfylly built the bar without issues and got the control back to execute other commands. However, when I give the V7 toolkit instllation location for toolkit.home I have the issue with ant script hanging and when I kill the java.exe which is consuming high memory, I get an error message as below though the bar is build successfully and I could deploy it to broker without any deployment issues.

Code:
     [exec] BIP0986I Command completed successfully.
     [exec]
     [exec]
     [exec]
     [exec]

BUILD FAILED
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:15: The following error occurred while execut
ing this line:
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:52: exec returned: 1

Total time: 16 minutes 55 seconds


the line 15 in my ant script is the antcall to build the bar....

Code:
<antcall target="mqsicreatebar.buildbar" />



and line 52 is the exec command for building the bar

Code:
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false" failonerror="true" vmlauncher="false">


I followed your suggestion of updating the toolkit. We have a sandbox and I have updated the toolkit to the latest version Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636
However, I still have the same issue.

I am not sure what I should I do to get rid of this ant script hanging problem. Please suggest me if I have to anything else.

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gaya3
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 2493
Location: Boston, US

Hi

this is the way how i did it

<exec executable="${cb.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" failonerror="true" logerror="true" vmlauncher="false" append="true">
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="." />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar.dir}\Gayathri_Test_@{egnum}.bar" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="TestFlows"/>
<arg value="TestJava" />
<arg value="-o" />
<arg value="TestFlows\com\gaya\test\common\Sample\TestCodes.msgflow" />
</exec>

hope it will help you
Regards
Gayathri
_________________
Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

Gayatri,

Thanks for your response.

I tried the way you suggested....
Code:
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" failonerror="true" logerror="true" vmlauncher="false" append="true">
      <arg value="-data" />
      <arg value="${workspace.dir}" />
      <arg value="-b" />
      <arg value="${bar.name}" />
     <arg value="-p" />   
      <!-- <arg line="${bar.build.projects}" /> -->
     <arg value="MFP_V7_Test" />
     <arg value="-o" />
      <!-- <arg line="${bar.build.projects.items}" /> -->
     <arg value="MFP_V7_Test\MF_V7_Test.msgflow" />
   </exec>
    <echo message="Completed building Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />
  </target>


However, I am facing the same issue.

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

I actually ran the below command on the command promot to see the log file.

Code:
C:\Ant\182\bin>ant -buildfile build.xml -debug -logfile TestLogV7.txt > TestDebugV7.txt


As usal it hangs and when I killed the java.exe process, I got the below info at the bottom of my log file.

Code:
[exec] BIP0986I Command completed successfully.
     [exec]
     [exec]
     [exec]
     [exec]
  [antcall] Exiting C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml.

BUILD FAILED
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:20: The following error occurred while executing this line:
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:57: exec returned: 1
   at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.runExecute(ExecTask.java:646)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.runExec(ExecTask.java:672)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.execute(ExecTask.java:498)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.UnknownElement.execute(UnknownElement.java:291)
   at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
   at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:79)
   at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:618)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.helper.SingleCheckExecutor.executeTargets(SingleCheckExecutor.java:38)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTargets(Project.java:1251)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Ant.execute(Ant.java:442)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.CallTarget.execute(CallTarget.java:105)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.UnknownElement.execute(UnknownElement.java:291)
   at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
   at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:79)
   at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
   at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:618)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTarget(Project.java:1368)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.helper.DefaultExecutor.executeTargets(DefaultExecutor.java:41)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTargets(Project.java:1251)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Main.runBuild(Main.java:809)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.Main.startAnt(Main.java:217)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.launch.Launcher.run(Launcher.java:280)
   at org.apache.tools.ant.launch.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:109)

Total time: 12 minutes 25 seconds


Can anybody help me with the above info?

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

mqxplorer wrote:
Can anybody help me with the above info?


Did you apply the APAR from IBM?
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

lancelotlinc,

What APAR? APAR for toolkit? Do you have the link to download that APAR? All I did was staretd the IBM installation manager from tyhe toolkit and updated the toolkit.

May be silly question..but just curious... I do not need to stop the broker while updating the toolkit..do I?

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

You get the APAR from IBM by opening a PMR. mqsicreatebar in version 7.0.0.2 and earlier has known issues addressed by the APAR that cause mqsicreatebar to hang on certain conditions.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
smdavies99
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.

There is also FixPak 7.0.0.3 (toolkit only so far) that has been available for a short time.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

smdavies99 wrote:
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.

There is also FixPak 7.0.0.3 (toolkit only so far) that has been available for a short time.


Does the iFix include the APAR? Not all APARs are included.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

Quote:
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.



I have updated my toolkit yesterday to the version..

My toolkit versio info...
Code:
Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636


I have restarted my machine and tried..still facing the same issue..

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

mqxplorer wrote:
Quote:
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.



I have updated my toolkit yesterday to the version..

My toolkit versio info...
Code:
Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636


I have restarted my machine and tried..still facing the same issue..

Thanks
mqxplorer


The APAR is not included in the iFix. Open a PMR.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

I opened the PMR and waiting for IBM response...

I will update the results...

Thanks
mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Ant Script hanging while creating the bar file
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.