Author |
Message
|
mqxplorer |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:22 am Post subject: Ant Script hanging while creating the bar file |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
Hi All,
I am a developing an ant script that gets the message flows/message sets artifacts from VSS to a working folder which I set it up in the ant script and builds the bar file from there. I am abale to build the bar file successfully, however, the script hangs.. what that means is...after building the bar file, I am expecting that I get the control back in the comman line window so that I can execute some other command which does not happen. Whenever, I am running the ant script on my windows machine in the task manager I see two java.exe files one with less memory ~22MB and the other with more memory ~220MB.
I guess, I have some problem with my exec statement in my script.
below is a part of my script
Code: |
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}/mqsicreatebar.exe">
<arg value="-cleanBuild" />
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="${workspace.home}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar.name}" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="MFP_Changed_TK_Settings" />
<arg value="MSP_Changed_TK_Settings" />
<arg value="-o" />
<arg value="MFP_Changed_TK_Settings\MF_Changed_TK_Settings.msgflow" />
<arg value="MSP_Changed_TK_Settings\MS_Changed_TK_Settings\messageSet.mset" />
</exec>
<echo message="Completed building Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " /> |
After it builds the bar (which it is doing), I was expecting the echo statement which I have after the </exec> statement, however, it just hangs up and when I kill the java.exe process consuming the high memory ~220MB I get the below text on my command prompt (which I am expecting as soon as the bar is built) and the control comes back to me so that I can execute a another command.
Code: |
[exec] Result: 1
[echo] Completed building Broker Archive file - C:\Ant\182\src\De
ployable\TestBar.bar
BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 1 minute 38 seconds |
My toolkit version is 7.0.0.1
Could someone help me what I should do in order to get rid of this high memory consumption and ant script ganging?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 7:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
there are a few issues with 7.0.0.1 that you should really update to a newer level.
You should confirm that that the bar file really is built completely when you do your manual kill - I suspect that mqsicreatebar is just taking much longer to run than you expect it to!
See if it runs quicker without the -cleanBuild. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Remove the "cleanbuild" option.
Here is a paragraph that works for me:
Code: |
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}/mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false">
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="${workspaces.dir}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar9.name}" />
<!-- <arg value="-cleanBuild" /> -->
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="ProjectName" />
<arg value="${ProjectNameBar9_mset_project}" />
<arg value="-o" />
<arg value="${target_mflow_path}/${target_mflow_9}" />
<arg value="${target_mset_path}/${target_mset_9}" />
</exec>
|
Clean build hangs the mqsicreatebar utility. Also, mqsicreatebar hangs with WTX flows. There is an apar you can apply to correct the WTX issue. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
Hi mqjeff,
Thanks for your response. I have tried using the V6 toolkit mqsicreatebar command i.e,... I specified the V6 toolkit installation C:\Program Files\IBM\WMBT610 for toolkit.home and tried building the bar and I successfylly built the bar without issues and got the control back to execute other commands. However, when I give the V7 toolkit instllation location for toolkit.home I have the issue with ant script hanging and when I kill the java.exe which is consuming high memory, I get an error message as below though the bar is build successfully and I could deploy it to broker without any deployment issues.
Code: |
[exec] BIP0986I Command completed successfully.
[exec]
[exec]
[exec]
[exec]
BUILD FAILED
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:15: The following error occurred while execut
ing this line:
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:52: exec returned: 1
Total time: 16 minutes 55 seconds
|
the line 15 in my ant script is the antcall to build the bar....
Code: |
<antcall target="mqsicreatebar.buildbar" />
|
and line 52 is the exec command for building the bar
Code: |
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false" failonerror="true" vmlauncher="false"> |
I followed your suggestion of updating the toolkit. We have a sandbox and I have updated the toolkit to the latest version Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636
However, I still have the same issue.
I am not sure what I should I do to get rid of this ant script hanging problem. Please suggest me if I have to anything else.
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gaya3 |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 Posts: 2493 Location: Boston, US
|
Hi
this is the way how i did it
<exec executable="${cb.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" failonerror="true" logerror="true" vmlauncher="false" append="true">
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="." />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar.dir}\Gayathri_Test_@{egnum}.bar" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="TestFlows"/>
<arg value="TestJava" />
<arg value="-o" />
<arg value="TestFlows\com\gaya\test\common\Sample\TestCodes.msgflow" />
</exec>
hope it will help you
Regards
Gayathri _________________ Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
Gayatri,
Thanks for your response.
I tried the way you suggested....
Code: |
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\mqsicreatebar.exe" failonerror="true" logerror="true" vmlauncher="false" append="true">
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="${workspace.dir}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar.name}" />
<arg value="-p" />
<!-- <arg line="${bar.build.projects}" /> -->
<arg value="MFP_V7_Test" />
<arg value="-o" />
<!-- <arg line="${bar.build.projects.items}" /> -->
<arg value="MFP_V7_Test\MF_V7_Test.msgflow" />
</exec>
<echo message="Completed building Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />
</target> |
However, I am facing the same issue.
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
I actually ran the below command on the command promot to see the log file.
Code: |
C:\Ant\182\bin>ant -buildfile build.xml -debug -logfile TestLogV7.txt > TestDebugV7.txt |
As usal it hangs and when I killed the java.exe process, I got the below info at the bottom of my log file.
Code: |
[exec] BIP0986I Command completed successfully.
[exec]
[exec]
[exec]
[exec]
[antcall] Exiting C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml.
BUILD FAILED
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:20: The following error occurred while executing this line:
C:\Ant\182\bin\build.xml:57: exec returned: 1
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.runExecute(ExecTask.java:646)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.runExec(ExecTask.java:672)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.ExecTask.execute(ExecTask.java:498)
at org.apache.tools.ant.UnknownElement.execute(UnknownElement.java:291)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:79)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:618)
at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
at org.apache.tools.ant.helper.SingleCheckExecutor.executeTargets(SingleCheckExecutor.java:38)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTargets(Project.java:1251)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.Ant.execute(Ant.java:442)
at org.apache.tools.ant.taskdefs.CallTarget.execute(CallTarget.java:105)
at org.apache.tools.ant.UnknownElement.execute(UnknownElement.java:291)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:79)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:618)
at org.apache.tools.ant.dispatch.DispatchUtils.execute(DispatchUtils.java:106)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Task.perform(Task.java:348)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.execute(Target.java:390)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Target.performTasks(Target.java:411)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeSortedTargets(Project.java:1399)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTarget(Project.java:1368)
at org.apache.tools.ant.helper.DefaultExecutor.executeTargets(DefaultExecutor.java:41)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Project.executeTargets(Project.java:1251)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Main.runBuild(Main.java:809)
at org.apache.tools.ant.Main.startAnt(Main.java:217)
at org.apache.tools.ant.launch.Launcher.run(Launcher.java:280)
at org.apache.tools.ant.launch.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:109)
Total time: 12 minutes 25 seconds |
Can anybody help me with the above info?
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
lancelotlinc,
What APAR? APAR for toolkit? Do you have the link to download that APAR? All I did was staretd the IBM installation manager from tyhe toolkit and updated the toolkit.
May be silly question..but just curious... I do not need to stop the broker while updating the toolkit..do I?
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
You get the APAR from IBM by opening a PMR. mqsicreatebar in version 7.0.0.2 and earlier has known issues addressed by the APAR that cause mqsicreatebar to hang on certain conditions. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.
There is also FixPak 7.0.0.3 (toolkit only so far) that has been available for a short time. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.
There is also FixPak 7.0.0.3 (toolkit only so far) that has been available for a short time. |
Does the iFix include the APAR? Not all APARs are included. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
Quote: |
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.
|
I have updated my toolkit yesterday to the version..
My toolkit versio info...
Code: |
Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636 |
I have restarted my machine and tried..still facing the same issue..
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
mqxplorer wrote: |
Quote: |
There is an iFix for 7.0.0.2 that will be applied if you use the 'update' option of the IBM Installation Manager.
|
I have updated my toolkit yesterday to the version..
My toolkit versio info...
Code: |
Version: 7.0.0.2
Build id: 7.0.0.2-IFix-20110621_1636 |
I have restarted my machine and tried..still facing the same issue..
Thanks
mqxplorer |
The APAR is not included in the iFix. Open a PMR. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqxplorer |
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 206
|
I opened the PMR and waiting for IBM response...
I will update the results...
Thanks
mqxplorer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|