ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » User Exits

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 User Exits « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
inglopezf
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:23 am    Post subject: User Exits Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

Hi I need to develop an user exit but I can´t find enough info in the websphere help can anyone help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:29 am    Post subject: Re: User Exits Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

inglopezf wrote:
Hi I need to develop an user exit but I can´t find enough info in the websphere help can anyone help me?


Clearly there's this

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v6r0m0/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac02140_.htm

which I imagine is what you're refering to. What other information are you looking for?

Also, what's your requirement? User exits are a bit of a last resort, especially since JCNs were introduced.

I won't repeat the usual warnings about bugs in exits; I'm sure you've seen them.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:37 am    Post subject: Re: User Exits Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
User exits are a bit of a last resort, especially since JCNs were introduced.


User exits weren't introduced until FP 1 of v6...

So it doesn't make sense to talk about JCN's being introduced later... ?

Otherwise, yes, spot on.

inglopezf - what is the requirement, really?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inglopezf
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

Hi Thanks for the info..

I need to know in acopute node wath was the terminal of the las node that propagate the message

Example

MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^

On the compute node I need to know if the message came from MqInput Out o Failure.

I look for broker properties but can´t find anything then I think maybe with a user exit write in the enviroment a variable with this information
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

No, put in different nodes.

MqInput--Out-->Compute1
---Failure->Compute2
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

inglopezf wrote:
I need to know in acopute node wath was the terminal of the las node that propagate the message


As a follow up to this?

http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=209070&highlight=#209070
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inglopezf
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

thanks for you answers

OK I think in that but Can I track that information with a user exit? or another way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

inglopezf wrote:
OK I think in that but Can I track that information with a user exit? or another way?


Well there are a couple of points that occur to me:

- Where will the user exit store the infomation, that a Compute node could not?

- What is the functional difference between 2 Compute nodes (who know by position what terminal they're wired to) and a user exit interogating the terminal information?

I'm trying to get a clearer picture of your requirement here, and why you're fixed on the user exit route. I suspect it's connected to your continued use of the word "track", but don't see what you're trying to achieve.

Knowing your goal will help us point out possible "another ways"
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inglopezf
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

In a few lines I want, need to do this:

MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^

Compute esql:

IF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Out THEN
RETURN;
ELSEIF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Failure THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1 ;
ENDIF

Thanks to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow.

Not without tying your self in knots, and causing demons to fly out of your nose.

User Exits are intended primarily for monitoring the steps that a flow takes.

They are better suited for this than instrumenting your flow, because they happen in a different thread than your flow. So your flow performance is not impacted by the monitoring.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

inglopezf wrote:
In a few lines I want, need to do this:

MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^

Compute esql:

IF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Out THEN
RETURN;
ELSEIF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Failure THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1 ;
ENDIF

Thanks to all


And this requires a user exit why?

The suggestion of jefflowrey in your original post is almost exactly that. What am I missing?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

DO NOT DESIGN YOUR FLOW LIKE THIS.

YOU CAN'T GET THIS INFORMATION.

You need more than one node!

Or otherwise need to be able to tell from the message whether an error has occurred or not.

Like, look for an exception list.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

jefflowrey wrote:
You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow.


Not even in the Environment tree, which the inforcentre says is read/write?

(I ask only for academic purposes)

jefflowrey wrote:
Not without tying your self in knots, and causing demons to fly out of your nose.


I hate it when they do that. Out of your mouth is not so bad.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inglopezf
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 14

I do this but the line "LIKE 'Caught%'" is too weak

DECLARE Elist REFERENCE TO InputExceptionList.*[1];
SET OutputRoot = InputRoot;
SET OutputExceptionList = InputExceptionList;
IF Elist.Number IS NULL THEN
RETURN TRUE;
ELSEIF Elist.Text LIKE 'Caught%' THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1;
ELSE
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 2;
END IF;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Vitor wrote:
jefflowrey wrote:
You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow.


Not even in the Environment tree, which the inforcentre says is read/write?

(I ask only for academic purposes)


Yes, I suppose you could augment/modify the environment tree in a user exit, and then misuse that information in your flow.

It's an absolutely appalling idea, though. And way over-engineered for what inglopezf is trying to do.

Inglopezf... what is your exact reason for not wanting to use two nodes? There's no good reason!
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » User Exits
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.