Author |
Message
|
inglopezf |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:23 am Post subject: User Exits |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 14
|
Hi I need to develop an user exit but I can´t find enough info in the websphere help can anyone help me? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:29 am Post subject: Re: User Exits |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
inglopezf wrote: |
Hi I need to develop an user exit but I can´t find enough info in the websphere help can anyone help me? |
Clearly there's this
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v6r0m0/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac02140_.htm
which I imagine is what you're refering to. What other information are you looking for?
Also, what's your requirement? User exits are a bit of a last resort, especially since JCNs were introduced.
I won't repeat the usual warnings about bugs in exits; I'm sure you've seen them. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:37 am Post subject: Re: User Exits |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Vitor wrote: |
User exits are a bit of a last resort, especially since JCNs were introduced. |
User exits weren't introduced until FP 1 of v6...
So it doesn't make sense to talk about JCN's being introduced later... ?
Otherwise, yes, spot on.
inglopezf - what is the requirement, really? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inglopezf |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 14
|
Hi Thanks for the info..
I need to know in acopute node wath was the terminal of the las node that propagate the message
Example
MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^
On the compute node I need to know if the message came from MqInput Out o Failure.
I look for broker properties but can´t find anything then I think maybe with a user exit write in the enviroment a variable with this information |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
No, put in different nodes.
MqInput--Out-->Compute1
---Failure->Compute2 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inglopezf |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 14
|
thanks for you answers
OK I think in that but Can I track that information with a user exit? or another way? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
inglopezf wrote: |
OK I think in that but Can I track that information with a user exit? or another way? |
Well there are a couple of points that occur to me:
- Where will the user exit store the infomation, that a Compute node could not?
- What is the functional difference between 2 Compute nodes (who know by position what terminal they're wired to) and a user exit interogating the terminal information?
I'm trying to get a clearer picture of your requirement here, and why you're fixed on the user exit route. I suspect it's connected to your continued use of the word "track", but don't see what you're trying to achieve.
Knowing your goal will help us point out possible "another ways" _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inglopezf |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 14
|
In a few lines I want, need to do this:
MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^
Compute esql:
IF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Out THEN
RETURN;
ELSEIF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Failure THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1 ;
ENDIF
Thanks to all |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow.
Not without tying your self in knots, and causing demons to fly out of your nose.
User Exits are intended primarily for monitoring the steps that a flow takes.
They are better suited for this than instrumenting your flow, because they happen in a different thread than your flow. So your flow performance is not impacted by the monitoring. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
inglopezf wrote: |
In a few lines I want, need to do this:
MqInput -- Out ------------------->Compute
-- Failure -----------------^
Compute esql:
IF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Out THEN
RETURN;
ELSEIF <<lastnodeterminal>> = Failure THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1 ;
ENDIF
Thanks to all |
And this requires a user exit why?
The suggestion of jefflowrey in your original post is almost exactly that. What am I missing? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
DO NOT DESIGN YOUR FLOW LIKE THIS.
YOU CAN'T GET THIS INFORMATION.
You need more than one node!
Or otherwise need to be able to tell from the message whether an error has occurred or not.
Like, look for an exception list. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow. |
Not even in the Environment tree, which the inforcentre says is read/write?
(I ask only for academic purposes)
jefflowrey wrote: |
Not without tying your self in knots, and causing demons to fly out of your nose. |
I hate it when they do that. Out of your mouth is not so bad.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inglopezf |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 14
|
I do this but the line "LIKE 'Caught%'" is too weak
DECLARE Elist REFERENCE TO InputExceptionList.*[1];
SET OutputRoot = InputRoot;
SET OutputExceptionList = InputExceptionList;
IF Elist.Number IS NULL THEN
RETURN TRUE;
ELSEIF Elist.Text LIKE 'Caught%' THEN
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 1;
ELSE
PROPAGATE TO TERMINAL 2;
END IF; |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Vitor wrote: |
jefflowrey wrote: |
You can not pass information FROM a User Exit TO a Flow. |
Not even in the Environment tree, which the inforcentre says is read/write?
(I ask only for academic purposes) |
Yes, I suppose you could augment/modify the environment tree in a user exit, and then misuse that information in your flow.
It's an absolutely appalling idea, though. And way over-engineered for what inglopezf is trying to do.
Inglopezf... what is your exact reason for not wanting to use two nodes? There's no good reason! _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|