ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:44 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

Anybody been able to put to a cluster queue using Jboss MQ (jboss as version 3) ?

Application uses bindings to a local queue manager - clustered queue has its localq instance on a remote queue manager. Both queue managers members of cluster. amqsput on local jboss system is ok but not when configured for jboss jms mq.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

What's the reason code?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:46 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

This was their configuration file use - I suspect code can't handle queue manager of blank.

Code:
<attribute name="QueueManagerName"></attribute>
  <attribute name="DestinationName">CCT.TO.WCS.MQSI.IN</attribute>


2007-01-18 16:41:41,028 WARN [org.jboss.system.ServiceController] Problem start
ing service com.catalystwms.wsmq.jboss:service=WSMQQueueConnectionFactory
javax.jms.JMSException: MQJMS1006: invalid value for queueManager: <null>
at com.ibm.mq.jms.services.ConfigEnvironment.newException(ConfigEnvironment.java:585)
at com.ibm.mq.jms.MQConnectionFactory.setQueueManager(MQConnectionFactory.java:765)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Use a qmgr alias/cluster alias.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:16 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

Jeff please clarify I understand qm aliases but what do you mean by cluster alias?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

A cluster alias is a qremote that doesn't specify a RMQNAME.

Then you can set this as the QueueManagerName attribute vlaue.

When messages are written to the destination, then the qremote will be used and it will overwrite the name of the qremote in the MQMD with the RMQNAME value. But that RMQNAME value is blank, so the message will be load balanced in the cluster.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:57 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

Jeff,
Getting there hopefully so we code

Code:
<attribute name="QueueManagerName">BROKERQM</attribute><attribute name="DestinationName">CCT.TO.WCS.MQSI.IN</attribute>


Where DestinationName is the name of the clustered local queue

On Jboss server queue manager
Code:
DEF QR(BROKERQM) +
       RQMNAME(' ')     +
       XMITQ(' ')          +
       RNAME(' ')


All correct??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Looks right for a cluster qmgr.
Now if you are going from a non cluster qmgr to a cluster qmgr you need to be a little bit more inventive.

On the non cluster qmgr Set up a cluster alias that looks like a qmgr alias and specify the cluster name as remote qmgr and the xmitq to the cluster.

On the clustered receiver (gateway) set up the cluster alias as you did above (using the cluster name as qname for the rq). The messages will then load balance in the cluster.

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:48 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

Thanks for your help oh grand masters.

Jboss is running on clustered qmgr so no need for that special procedure.

I'll get the change made and tested on Monday.

Watch this space.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornbeam123
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:53 am    Post subject: MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 101

SUCCESS

The cluster alias did the trick. Many thanks guys.

Now I need to understand why JMS MQ application needs such an alias defined at the queue manager it binds to, when normal api calls do not require it.

Is this 'design feature' documented anywhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You said it yourself.

The JBoss stuff doesn't like having the queue manager blank in the JNDI definitions.

If you specify the local queue manager in that queue manager name, then you won't use the cluster.

And you can't use the name of the cluster, either. So you have to create something that has a name that you can use, but ensures that the queue manager name is actually empty.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » MQ CLUSTER WITH JBOSS MQ
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.