ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Variables not shown in debug

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Variables not shown in debug « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
harelmoshe1
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:03 am    Post subject: Variables not shown in debug Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 41

While i'm stepping into the source code, some variables simply disappear after i'm passing their declaration line... something like:

Code:
-- root is a variable passed to the function with the following code.
-- I can see cursor on the 'variables' pane here.
DECLARE cursor REFERENCE TO root;

-- 'root' is still shown in the 'variables' pane, but cursor vanishes in
-- a misterious way after passin the following line:
MOVE cursor FIRSTCHILD;


seems like i can see only variables passed to the function, but even them vanish sometimes from the 'variables' pane in the debug perspective...

any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi harelmoshe1,

Does root have a Child element ?

If not then ofcourse it will vanish.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
harelmoshe1
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:10 am    Post subject: Yes, it does... Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 41

The debug pane also lets me see the entire XML-tree heirarachy... for some reason, it seems that everywhere in my code, not just in that particular part, local variables (declared by DECLARE) are not shown, while parameters passed to the function are shown

can't I add variable names somewhere and see their values at run-time ?
It only shows the variables it picks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi harelmoshe1,

Instead of giving us a hint everythime and asking us to guess what ur problem is,

Why dont you simply paste your code and the XML message that you are passing

If the value u are storing after the declare is null then the variable will not appear....If you store a default value in it in the next line after your vanishing line, it will reappear....No, it is not magic

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
harelmoshe1
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 41

Sorry, but i can paste any code here due to confidentiality reasons (the code is used in military systems).

I just wanted to know if anyone had exprienced similar problem, assuming that this is a probelm.
can't i add variable names in some place and watch their values at run-time ?

Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

I assume you're using version 5.

What FP level?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harelmoshe1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 41

If you mean FixPack, i think it's version 4.

Is it a known bug or something ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
premkumar
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 40

Hi,

If you are not able to see the variables in debug mode and you are sure that the variable does not have null values... then

u can try either of this

1. Try to put the trace node and print the Root, Environment, Local Environment. It will show the details.....

2. U can store the variable data in Environment tree in various stages and finally log and view the values....
_________________
Thanks and Regards,
Premkumar.S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
elvis_gn
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Posts: 1905
Location: Dubai

Hi harelmoshe1,

I dont know how far we can help you if you cannot share any info with us...

Maybe if you change the variables and show us where stuff is going wrong...coz this is like searching a needle in a haystack...

I am still quite sure that this is a NULL value problem...

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Variables not shown in debug
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.