ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Using PCF on Websphere EE Server

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Using PCF on Websphere EE Server « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mcdonalds
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 10:25 pm    Post subject: Using PCF on Websphere EE Server Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 6

I have some PCF code which is used to establish the current and minimum depths of an MQ queue (from within a websphere environment). The code is as follows:
[code]PCFAgent agent = new PCFAgent("localhost", 1414, "java.channel");[/code]

This code runs fine on a non-EE websphere test server, but when I try to run it on a EE websphere server, I get the following error:

[quote]com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2058
SystemErr R at com.ibm.mq.MQManagedConnectionJ11.<init>(MQManagedConnectionJ11.java:172)[/quote]

Now I know that this error generally means that the MQ manager name is not recognised, but like I said above, this same code runs ok on a non-EE server.

Has anyone ever come across this problem before, or have any idea how to solve it?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Well.

Is there a queue manager on the EE server machine?

Is the queue manager listening? Is the command server running?

Is there a channel defined on that queue manager named 'java.channel' (case sensitive!) that is a SVRCONN channel?

Did you look to see if there was more information in the queue manager logs on that machine?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcdonalds
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 6

MQ is running on the same machine as websphere.

As far as I know the queue manager is listening and the command server running (I haven't touched any of the MQ settings between running the code on the non-EE server and attempting to run it on the EE server).

The queue manager contains a channel named 'java.channel' that is of type 'Server Connection'.

There doesn't appear to be anything in the queue manager logs that indicate a problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Is the queue manager on the EE server the default qm?

Is 1414 the right port?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcdonalds
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 6

The queue manager is not the default one. I did try this, but it didn't seem to make any difference.

I have left the port number as the default (which is 1414).

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

mcdonalds wrote:
I have left the port number as the default (which is 1414).


Well, as long as the listener for the qm is using that port, then you're fine there.

Can you use the plain Java API to establish a client connection using the same parameters?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcdonalds
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 6

I can access the queue using JMS, but when I try to use the MQ API, I get the same error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JLRowe
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 664
Location: South East London

Is the stack trace any longer then you first posted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

What about from amqsputc?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

The 2058 indicates that you connected to a queue manager, but you had the wrong name. I'd suggest that you issue the dspmq command to confirm the name of your qmgr. I'd also suggest that you use the amqsputc command and the MQSERVER environment variable to connect to the qmgr. This should verify your port and qmgr name. You are probably connecting in using a port to a second qmgr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

bower5932 wrote:
The 2058 indicates that you connected to a queue manager, but you had the wrong name. I'd suggest that you issue the dspmq command to confirm the name of your qmgr. I'd also suggest that you use the amqsputc command and the MQSERVER environment variable to connect to the qmgr. This should verify your port and qmgr name. You are probably connecting in using a port to a second qmgr.


Ron -
Code:
PCFAgent agent = new PCFAgent("localhost", 1414, "java.channel");


mcdonalds is not specifiying a queue manager name - unless it is deciding to use "localhost" as the queue manager name and not the hostname, which it shouldn't be.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Using PCF on Websphere EE Server
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.