ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Create queue concept

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Create queue concept « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Xephorr
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:30 am    Post subject: Create queue concept Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 3

Hi All,
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager? I'm asking you this question for the concept sake and i appreciate if anybody would answer me this question.
Thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

Are the queues of the form QUEUENAME.XXX where XXX is a number? Maybe you could write something to generate the mqsc scripts based on this? OR again. if u have a list of qnames in electronic form you could generate mqsc scripts from this.

Quite easy really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jade Harv
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 3

You can make of scripting languages to implement the automated logic or use some macros.

Harv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sam Uppu
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:34 am    Post subject: Re: Create queue concept Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 610

Xephorr wrote:
Hi All,
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager? I'm asking you this question for the concept sake and i appreciate if anybody would answer me this question.
Thank you very much.


Not sure why do you want to do that?.

If you have some kind of sequencing number in your queue naming then you can write a subroutine and call that routine in your script.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sumit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:05 am    Post subject: Re: Create queue concept Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 398

Xephorr wrote:
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager?


Do you want to use these 250 queues (huge number) permanently. IF not, you can opt for permanent dynamic queue. So, your application will make a queue whenever it needs to put messages in it (will not work if your application wants to 'get' messages from queue).

This will indeed save your time from making 250 queues or writing any code for that. But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work. You can modify your code to delete the queues before exiting.

You can get better responses if you can poste your requirement.
_________________
Regards
Sumit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:35 am    Post subject: Re: Create queue concept Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

sumit wrote:
...if not, you can opt for permanent dynamic queue. So, your application will make a queue whenever it needs to put messages in it...


Only needs to be permanent dynamic if the messages are persistent.

sumit wrote:
...(will not work if your application wants to 'get' messages from queue)...


Yes it will, if it's a Reply-To queue - and see above.

sumit wrote:
...But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work...


Really so you don't think it's an application responsibility to clear up after itself? How do you as an Admin know when an application has finished with a queue? Do you just delete queues on a whim?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sumit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:37 am    Post subject: Re: Create queue concept Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 398

exerk wrote:
sumit wrote:
...But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work...


Really so you don't think it's an application responsibility to clear up after itself? How do you as an Admin know when an application has finished with a queue? Do you just delete queues on a whim?


it's the code which will delete the code and not the admin. That's why I wrote the next line as
Quote:
You can modify your code to delete the queues before exiting.


no intentions to create any confusion.
_________________
Regards
Sumit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend.


Ever seen one that does?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
Vitor wrote:
As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend.


Ever seen one that does?


Yes. After I explained to the development team the importance of doing it. Specifically what would happen if I had to clean up their leftovers from the queue manager one more time.




_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Did anyone film it? Is it on YouTube somewhere?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
Did anyone film it? Is it on YouTube somewhere?


Days before YouTube my young apprentice. In many ways a shame; one of my better rants even if I say so myself.

Yes, there were days before YouTube. There were days before Google....
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
...There were days before Google....


Indeed...some people on this board still have not discovered it
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Create queue concept
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.