Author |
Message
|
Xephorr |
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:30 am Post subject: Create queue concept |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 25 Feb 2008 Posts: 3
|
Hi All,
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager? I'm asking you this question for the concept sake and i appreciate if anybody would answer me this question.
Thank you very much. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
Are the queues of the form QUEUENAME.XXX where XXX is a number? Maybe you could write something to generate the mqsc scripts based on this? OR again. if u have a list of qnames in electronic form you could generate mqsc scripts from this.
Quite easy really. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jade Harv |
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 26 Mar 2009 Posts: 3
|
You can make of scripting languages to implement the automated logic or use some macros.
Harv |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam Uppu |
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:34 am Post subject: Re: Create queue concept |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 11 Nov 2008 Posts: 610
|
Xephorr wrote: |
Hi All,
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager? I'm asking you this question for the concept sake and i appreciate if anybody would answer me this question.
Thank you very much. |
Not sure why do you want to do that?.
If you have some kind of sequencing number in your queue naming then you can write a subroutine and call that routine in your script.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumit |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:05 am Post subject: Re: Create queue concept |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 398
|
Xephorr wrote: |
Is there an efficient way (other than going about doing manually) to create more than 250 queues for a particular queue manager? |
Do you want to use these 250 queues (huge number) permanently. IF not, you can opt for permanent dynamic queue. So, your application will make a queue whenever it needs to put messages in it (will not work if your application wants to 'get' messages from queue).
This will indeed save your time from making 250 queues or writing any code for that. But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work. You can modify your code to delete the queues before exiting.
You can get better responses if you can poste your requirement. _________________ Regards
Sumit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:35 am Post subject: Re: Create queue concept |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
sumit wrote: |
...if not, you can opt for permanent dynamic queue. So, your application will make a queue whenever it needs to put messages in it... |
Only needs to be permanent dynamic if the messages are persistent.
sumit wrote: |
...(will not work if your application wants to 'get' messages from queue)... |
Yes it will, if it's a Reply-To queue - and see above.
sumit wrote: |
...But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work... |
Really so you don't think it's an application responsibility to clear up after itself? How do you as an Admin know when an application has finished with a queue? Do you just delete queues on a whim? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumit |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:37 am Post subject: Re: Create queue concept |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 398
|
exerk wrote: |
sumit wrote: |
...But you need to take care to delete these queues as soon as your program is done with it's work... |
Really so you don't think it's an application responsibility to clear up after itself? How do you as an Admin know when an application has finished with a queue? Do you just delete queues on a whim? |
it's the code which will delete the code and not the admin. That's why I wrote the next line as
Quote: |
You can modify your code to delete the queues before exiting. |
no intentions to create any confusion. _________________ Regards
Sumit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Vitor wrote: |
As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend. |
Ever seen one that does?  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
exerk wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
As an aside, I'll point out it's important for an application to clear up on all possible exits, including an abend. |
Ever seen one that does?  |
Yes. After I explained to the development team the importance of doing it. Specifically what would happen if I had to clean up their leftovers from the queue manager one more time.
 _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Did anyone film it? Is it on YouTube somewhere? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
exerk wrote: |
Did anyone film it? Is it on YouTube somewhere? |
Days before YouTube my young apprentice. In many ways a shame; one of my better rants even if I say so myself.
Yes, there were days before YouTube. There were days before Google.... _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Vitor wrote: |
...There were days before Google.... |
Indeed...some people on this board still have not discovered it  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|