ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » What is the buffer size when doing a GET ?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 What is the buffer size when doing a GET ? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
AlexeiSkate
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 5:34 am    Post subject: What is the buffer size when doing a GET ? Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 123

Hi,

When you're executing the MQQueue.get(MQMessage, MQGetMessageOptions), without specifying the MaxMsgSize parameter, what is the max buffer size MQ used to store the message ? I'm trying to GET a msg off a queue but am getting the exception of MQRC_TRUNCATED_MSG_FAILED. Do I need to explicitly specify the MaxMsgSize option on the GET ?


thanks,
Alex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I didn't think the MQQueue.get(MQMessage, MQGetMessageOptions) had a max message size. In the documentation, it states that this call may actually issue two gets. The first one will establish the buffer size and the second will actually get the message. What did you specify for options?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
AlexeiSkate
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 123

bower,

You're right. I saw it in the documentation too that it should be able to get a msg of any size if the intMaxSize wasn't specified. Right now I think it's a bug in the Java class that we implemented to do the GET. We're passing a timeWaitInSec value as the third parameter, but the MQQueue.GET method doesn't take such parameter. I believe that MQS is interpreting the timeWaitInSec value as the intMaxSize in our class and hence our problem. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

There are three versions of the get method. One of them takes three parameters with the third parameter being the MaxMsgSize. If you are interestd in waiting for a message, look at the MQGetMessageOptions. It has a waitInterval that can be set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » What is the buffer size when doing a GET ?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.