ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » MAX NO OF HANDLES in a Qmgr

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MAX NO OF HANDLES in a Qmgr « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
dsikda
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:21 pm    Post subject: MAX NO OF HANDLES in a Qmgr Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 14

How can we determine the maximum no of CURRENT handles/connections for a Qmgr in an WINDOWS NT machine ? All answers are welcomed .

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Use runmqsc from the command line, and type "dis qmgr maxhands"
You should get output like:
Quote:

dis qmgr maxhands
1 : dis qmgr maxhands
AMQ8408: Display Queue Manager details.
QMNAME(TEST1) MAXHANDS(256)


You can probably also view this parameter in MQExplorer, but I can't remember off the top of my head. If you haven't changed anything, the default is 256. If you need to increase this, just use:
alter qmgr maxhands(1024)
or whatever you want...
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dsikda
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:46 pm    Post subject: MAX HANDLES Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 14

I am aware of the DIS QMGR cmd . This will display the value max no of handles that the Qmgr can take . But what I want is that at a Is There any way I can find out what is the CURRENT total no of connections to the Qmgr at any INSTANT of time . (Something like CURDEPTH for queue) . Is there any process which can directly relate to this !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bduncan
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2002 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

Well, you can do this by hand (or encapsulate it in a script to make life easier). Basically, you'll need to display the attributes for all queues belonging to this queue manager. Then sum up all the IPPROCS and OPPROCS. This should give you a pretty accurate estimate of how many handles are being used.
A perl script could do this easily.
Take the output from "dis ql(*)",
parse for the queue names, then issue
"dis ql(queuename)" for each name in the list,
parse for the IPPROCS and OPPROCS field,
and add these values up.
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
dsikda
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 12:36 pm    Post subject: MAX HANDLES Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 14

First of all thanks for replying . That was good , But not good enough . The sum of total no of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will not give the total no of current connections to the Qmgr . I have checked that out and it does not come near to the actual .
Do you have some other suggestions ?

Thanks a lot !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlamond
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 3:06 am    Post subject: MAX HANDLES Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 91
Location: Paris

You might be interested in looking at your Queue Manager properties for Channel (Use MQSeries Services console). The DEFAULT and MAXIMUM number of active channel instance depend on NT / W2K Workstation or Server. You can increase this value from the dialog box for MQSeries 5.2.x for NT / W2K. To modify those value on UNIX box you will need to edit the QM.INI file for each Queue Manager.

Hope this will help you,

Regard,

JM
_________________
Jean-Marc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mq_tyro
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 19
Location: Mumbai

The sum of total no of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will not give the total no of current connections to the Qmgr because for example if a connect handle opens the queue in INPUT as well as OUTPUT mode the sum of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will be (1+1=2), but here the total number of handles to queue mager is only 1.
Thanks....
_________________
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
bduncan
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 11 Apr 2001
Posts: 1554
Location: Silicon Valley

MQ v5.3 solves this problem. It allows you to examine which applications are connected to which queues.
_________________
Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
PeteHanbury
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:03 am    Post subject: here you are Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 23
Location: US AND EUROPE

10 : DIS QMSTATUS CONNS
Q8705: Display Queue Manager Status Details.
QMNAME(CFG3DEV) STATUS(RUNNING)
CONNS(15)
_________________
PeteHanbury
Independent IBM MQSeries/MQSI Architecture Certified Contractor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:15 am    Post subject: Re: here you are Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5080

PeteHanbury wrote:
10 : DIS QMSTATUS CONNS
Q8705: Display Queue Manager Status Details.
QMNAME(CFG3DEV) STATUS(RUNNING)
CONNS(15)

And this one's a ten year-old post!
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dgolding
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 667
Location: Switzerland

His ten year wait over, mq_tyro gets his answer, and moves on out into the world at large to see what else has changed....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

dgolding wrote:
His ten year wait over, mq_tyro gets his answer, and moves on out into the world at large to see what else has changed....


Eve Online holds the new frontier.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » MAX NO OF HANDLES in a Qmgr
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.