Author |
Message
|
dsikda |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:21 pm Post subject: MAX NO OF HANDLES in a Qmgr |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 14
|
How can we determine the maximum no of CURRENT handles/connections for a Qmgr in an WINDOWS NT machine ? All answers are welcomed .
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Use runmqsc from the command line, and type "dis qmgr maxhands"
You should get output like:
Quote: |
dis qmgr maxhands
1 : dis qmgr maxhands
AMQ8408: Display Queue Manager details.
QMNAME(TEST1) MAXHANDS(256)
|
You can probably also view this parameter in MQExplorer, but I can't remember off the top of my head. If you haven't changed anything, the default is 256. If you need to increase this, just use:
alter qmgr maxhands(1024)
or whatever you want... _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dsikda |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2002 1:46 pm Post subject: MAX HANDLES |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 14
|
I am aware of the DIS QMGR cmd . This will display the value max no of handles that the Qmgr can take . But what I want is that at a Is There any way I can find out what is the CURRENT total no of connections to the Qmgr at any INSTANT of time . (Something like CURDEPTH for queue) . Is there any process which can directly relate to this ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Wed May 29, 2002 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Well, you can do this by hand (or encapsulate it in a script to make life easier). Basically, you'll need to display the attributes for all queues belonging to this queue manager. Then sum up all the IPPROCS and OPPROCS. This should give you a pretty accurate estimate of how many handles are being used.
A perl script could do this easily.
Take the output from "dis ql(*)",
parse for the queue names, then issue
"dis ql(queuename)" for each name in the list,
parse for the IPPROCS and OPPROCS field,
and add these values up. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dsikda |
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2002 12:36 pm Post subject: MAX HANDLES |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 14
|
First of all thanks for replying . That was good , But not good enough . The sum of total no of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will not give the total no of current connections to the Qmgr . I have checked that out and it does not come near to the actual .
Do you have some other suggestions ?
Thanks a lot ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jlamond |
Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 3:06 am Post subject: MAX HANDLES |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 94 Location: Paris
|
You might be interested in looking at your Queue Manager properties for Channel (Use MQSeries Services console). The DEFAULT and MAXIMUM number of active channel instance depend on NT / W2K Workstation or Server. You can increase this value from the dialog box for MQSeries 5.2.x for NT / W2K. To modify those value on UNIX box you will need to edit the QM.INI file for each Queue Manager.
Hope this will help you,
Regard,
JM _________________ Jean-Marc |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_tyro |
Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2002 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 Posts: 19 Location: Mumbai
|
The sum of total no of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will not give the total no of current connections to the Qmgr because for example if a connect handle opens the queue in INPUT as well as OUTPUT mode the sum of IPPROCS & OPPROCS will be (1+1=2), but here the total number of handles to queue mager is only 1.
Thanks....  _________________ IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 7:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
MQ v5.3 solves this problem. It allows you to examine which applications are connected to which queues. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeteHanbury |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:03 am Post subject: here you are |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 13 Apr 2004 Posts: 23 Location: US AND EUROPE
|
10 : DIS QMSTATUS CONNS
Q8705: Display Queue Manager Status Details.
QMNAME(CFG3DEV) STATUS(RUNNING)
CONNS(15) _________________ PeteHanbury
Independent IBM MQSeries/MQSI Architecture Certified Contractor |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:15 am Post subject: Re: here you are |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
PeteHanbury wrote: |
10 : DIS QMSTATUS CONNS
Q8705: Display Queue Manager Status Details.
QMNAME(CFG3DEV) STATUS(RUNNING)
CONNS(15) |
And this one's a ten year-old post!  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dgolding |
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 16 May 2001 Posts: 668 Location: Switzerland
|
His ten year wait over, mq_tyro gets his answer, and moves on out into the world at large to see what else has changed.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
dgolding wrote: |
His ten year wait over, mq_tyro gets his answer, and moves on out into the world at large to see what else has changed.... |
Eve Online holds the new frontier. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|