ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » three questions about MQ

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 three questions about MQ « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
tiangl
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: three questions about MQ Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 48

my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?

my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example,i have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?

the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
PGoodhart
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 278
Location: Harrisburg PA

This is going to be very broad brush...
1. MQ is not a network protocol, so the "dial-up" is kind of out of its control. Establisihing the network connection is up to you... I think what you are going to want to look into is MQ Client connections. Basically that means that you will have client apps on the client computers and an MQ queue manager server that they will connect to.
2. You have no control over the cluster round robining... You would likely have to implement your own cluster application on top of MQ in order to do what you want.
3. You aren't ready to really make this sort of statement. You really only need two queue managers in MQ to cluster...
_________________
Patrick Goodhart
MQ Admin/Web Developer/Consultant
WebSphere Application Server Admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Dag
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:44 am    Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 2607
Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)

tiangl wrote:
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?

when using dial-up getting a dynamic IP adress, does not always mean you get a dynamic hostname. I would look at this aspect first.
For traffic from Central to Shop you need a way to start the Central side when the Shop is online, otherwise the Central SDR's will go in retrying mode all the time as the Shop is using dial up.

How many shops are we talking about here?


tiangl wrote:
my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example,i have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?

You would have to write this yourself...

tiangl wrote:
the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.

thanks!

yes you always need 1 or more getaway qmgrs as if you were connecting to QMA local queue definition will have priority of cluster queues and all messages go to QL.1 on QMA...
_________________
Michael



MQSystems Facebook page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:37 am    Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

tiangl wrote:
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?

Read about these channels in the Intercommunication Guide. This setup is what you need. Did you ask this question last week on the listserver? The answer you got there was correct.

tiangl wrote:

my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example, I have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?

You can write your own Cluster Workload Exit that will do this. Just don't come back and complain that MQ is slow, which it will be if it has to check a queue depth on a remote q every time it needs to send a message. That's why IBm didn't do it to begin with.

tiangl wrote:

the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.

An MQ cluster can be only 2 QMs, To take advantage of round robining you need 3 or more QMs in the cluster, one of which does not host that queue.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

tiangl wrote:
I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?


I believe you got it the wrong way round.
I would define the requester at the store and the server at headquarters.
So when you start the requester whatever is in the xmitq of the server gets sent to you.

As for the IP if you always get assigned the same name (yadayadayada.networkname.com) put that with the port in the conname of the server.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
csmith28
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

Yes, use the fully qualified DNS name of the server for your CONNAME attribute not the IP.

I got into this habbit long ago after coming to the conclusion that IP addresses change more often than DNS names.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tiangl
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 48

PeterPotkay wrote:
tiangl wrote:
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?

Read about these channels in the Intercommunication Guide. This setup is what you need. Did you ask this question last week on the listserver? The answer you got there was correct.

tiangl wrote:

my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example, I have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?

You can write your own Cluster Workload Exit that will do this. Just don't come back and complain that MQ is slow, which it will be if it has to check a queue depth on a remote q every time it needs to send a message. That's why IBm didn't do it to begin with.

tiangl wrote:

the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.

An MQ cluster can be only 2 QMs, To take advantage of round robining you need 3 or more QMs in the cluster, one of which does not host that queue.



i would like to thank all of you,your reply, your expertise.

to answer those question here:

1. customer has about 180 stores, only small part of stores use dial-up to communite with headquarters,the rest stores has LAN or WAN
2. I don't know what list server, peter, could you tell me where it is?

thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

http://listserv.meduniwien.ac.at/archives/mqser-l.html

The post about dial-up connections and SVR channels:
http://listserv.meduniwien.ac.at/cgi-bin/wa?A2=ind0501&L=mqser-l&T=0&F=&S=&P=36734
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » three questions about MQ
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.