|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
three questions about MQ |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
tiangl |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:16 am Post subject: three questions about MQ |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 48
|
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue?
my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example,i have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?
the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.
thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PGoodhart |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Posts: 278 Location: Harrisburg PA
|
This is going to be very broad brush...
1. MQ is not a network protocol, so the "dial-up" is kind of out of its control. Establisihing the network connection is up to you... I think what you are going to want to look into is MQ Client connections. Basically that means that you will have client apps on the client computers and an MQ queue manager server that they will connect to.
2. You have no control over the cluster round robining... You would likely have to implement your own cluster application on top of MQ in order to do what you want.
3. You aren't ready to really make this sort of statement. You really only need two queue managers in MQ to cluster... _________________ Patrick Goodhart
MQ Admin/Web Developer/Consultant
WebSphere Application Server Admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 4:44 am Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
tiangl wrote: |
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue? |
when using dial-up getting a dynamic IP adress, does not always mean you get a dynamic hostname. I would look at this aspect first.
For traffic from Central to Shop you need a way to start the Central side when the Shop is online, otherwise the Central SDR's will go in retrying mode all the time as the Shop is using dial up.
How many shops are we talking about here?
tiangl wrote: |
my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example,i have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit? |
You would have to write this yourself...
tiangl wrote: |
the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.
thanks! |
yes you always need 1 or more getaway qmgrs as if you were connecting to QMA local queue definition will have priority of cluster queues and all messages go to QL.1 on QMA... _________________ Michael
MQSystems Facebook page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:37 am Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
tiangl wrote: |
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue? |
Read about these channels in the Intercommunication Guide. This setup is what you need. Did you ask this question last week on the listserver? The answer you got there was correct.
tiangl wrote: |
my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example, I have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?
|
You can write your own Cluster Workload Exit that will do this. Just don't come back and complain that MQ is slow, which it will be if it has to check a queue depth on a remote q every time it needs to send a message. That's why IBm didn't do it to begin with.
tiangl wrote: |
the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.
|
An MQ cluster can be only 2 QMs, To take advantage of round robining you need 3 or more QMs in the cluster, one of which does not host that queue. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
tiangl wrote: |
I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue? |
I believe you got it the wrong way round.
I would define the requester at the store and the server at headquarters.
So when you start the requester whatever is in the xmitq of the server gets sent to you.
As for the IP if you always get assigned the same name (yadayadayada.networkname.com) put that with the port in the conname of the server.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Yes, use the fully qualified DNS name of the server for your CONNAME attribute not the IP.
I got into this habbit long ago after coming to the conclusion that IP addresses change more often than DNS names. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tiangl |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:39 pm Post subject: Re: three questions about MQ |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 48
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
tiangl wrote: |
my first questons is how MQ to support dial-up environment. assuming customer is a retailer. one of his store has MQ server(dynamic IP) and use dial-up to communicate with headquarters MQ(fixed IP). we can define SDR channel at store side and rcvr channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from store to headquarters. I heard we can define server channel at store's and requester channel at headquarters,then can support transmit data from headquarters to store,is that correct? I noticed that both server and requester need to set connection name, but there's no need to set transmission queue in requester channel. could someone explain more deep detailes about that? how requester and server channel work? how to resolve dynamic IP issue? |
Read about these channels in the Intercommunication Guide. This setup is what you need. Did you ask this question last week on the listserver? The answer you got there was correct.
tiangl wrote: |
my second questions is about cluster. i found the default arithmetic of cluster is Round Robin. it can distribute messages averagely. for example, I have two queues shared in cluster, QL.1 on QMA,QL.1 on QMB,when my app connected QMC and put four messages to QL.1, each queue will have two messages, even QL.1 on QMA had five existing messages. can we change this arithmetic to detect queue depth and then distribute messages based on queue depth? where to set this or i need to write my workload exit?
|
You can write your own Cluster Workload Exit that will do this. Just don't come back and complain that MQ is slow, which it will be if it has to check a queue depth on a remote q every time it needs to send a message. That's why IBm didn't do it to begin with.
tiangl wrote: |
the third question is still about cluster. if we want to implement cluster workload, at least we need three queue managers, right? define local queue with same name on echo two queue manager and share it in cluster. then app connect third queue manager which has no local definition of this queue and put message.
|
An MQ cluster can be only 2 QMs, To take advantage of round robining you need 3 or more QMs in the cluster, one of which does not host that queue. |
i would like to thank all of you,your reply, your expertise.
to answer those question here:
1. customer has about 180 stores, only small part of stores use dial-up to communite with headquarters,the rest stores has LAN or WAN
2. I don't know what list server, peter, could you tell me where it is?
thanks again! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|