Author |
Message
|
Albator |
Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:16 am Post subject: backup |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Hi,
I am running MQ 5.3 on win2k and planning a backup strategy. Can I please have a feedback on the best way to backup MQ? My plan is the following:
1. Stop all channels
2. Perform rcdmqimg
3. shutdown queue manager
4. End listener
5. backup MQM folder on tape
6. Restart queue manager
7. Restart listeners
8. Restart the channels
To me it looks like a pain if I try to automate this since there are timing issues. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Sas |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Sassaidi,
We do exactly this.
But we do it all from a script. However our base is UNIX.
You may have to use amqdain if you are running on a M$ base.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btjo |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 19
|
Didnt want to start a new topic so just adding here,
Trying to think how a shell script can be used to stop all channels of a queue manager.
These are the options to stop a channel
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(channel_name) [ MODE( QUIESCE | FORCE | TERMINATE ) ]
[ STATUS( STOPPED | INACTIVE) ]
[ QMNAME(qmname) ]
[ CONNAME(connection_name) ]
|
Anyone have any ideas.
How do you guys do it because the backup manual suggests to stop the channels of the QMs first and then run the rcdmqimg command and then proceed to shutdown of the QMs.
is it absoultely critical to stop the channels for backup?
i just need help with the stop channels part.
thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
There should not be any need to stop the channels before stopping the QM. They will be stopped as part of that process.
And if you use the -w option on endmqm, your script will wait for the QM to end before continuing.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(INACTIVE) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
vennela wrote: |
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(INACTIVE) |
|
You may not want to specify status(INACTIVE) if the channel is Triggered. If an application puts a message for remote delivery the channel will start again. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
We use a script
script file contains:
Code: |
STOP CHL(CHL1)
STOP CHL(CHL2)
STOP CHL(...CHLn)
|
and we run it
Code: |
runmqsc QMGR < script > stoplog |
Then we run the imaging (rcdmqimg)
Then we stop the qmgr
do the backup
start qmgr
run script starting the channels.
You DO want to stop all the channels and shutdown all applications using the qmgr in bindings mode to have a clean offline backup image that matches the one taken by rcdmqimg.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
Stating the obvious perhaps, but on windows (the original raiser!) backup the registry MQSeries tree (under HKLM\Software\IBM) as well... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btjo |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 19
|
Thanks everyone.!
fjb_saper wrote: |
We use a script
script file contains:
Code: |
STOP CHL(CHL1)
STOP CHL(CHL2)
STOP CHL(...CHLn)
|
and we run it
Code: |
runmqsc QMGR < script > stoplog |
Then we run the imaging (rcdmqimg)
Then we stop the qmgr
do the backup
start qmgr
run script starting the channels.
You DO want to stop all the channels and shutdown all applications using the qmgr in bindings mode to have a clean offline backup image that matches the one taken by rcdmqimg.
Enjoy  |
this solution will just work fine for me.
will try to add the status part in the script itself.
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(STOPPED)
|
i have found that to be more reliable and of course i will have to worry only about application queues.
Good point JasonE about the windows part.
thanks again to all who replied. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
You shouldn't have to specify (STOPPED). It is the default when you run "stop chl". _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|