ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » backup

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 backup « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Albator
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 7:16 am    Post subject: backup Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Location: Toronto, Canada

Hi,

I am running MQ 5.3 on win2k and planning a backup strategy. Can I please have a feedback on the best way to backup MQ? My plan is the following:

1. Stop all channels
2. Perform rcdmqimg
3. shutdown queue manager
4. End listener
5. backup MQM folder on tape
6. Restart queue manager
7. Restart listeners
8. Restart the channels

To me it looks like a pain if I try to automate this since there are timing issues. Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Sas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Sassaidi,

We do exactly this.
But we do it all from a script. However our base is UNIX.
You may have to use amqdain if you are running on a M$ base.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
btjo
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 19

Didnt want to start a new topic so just adding here,


Trying to think how a shell script can be used to stop all channels of a queue manager.

These are the options to stop a channel

Code:


STOP CHANNEL(channel_name)  [ MODE( QUIESCE | FORCE | TERMINATE ) ]   
                               [ STATUS( STOPPED | INACTIVE) ]         
                               [ QMNAME(qmname)  ]                     
                               [ CONNAME(connection_name) ]             




Anyone have any ideas.

How do you guys do it because the backup manual suggests to stop the channels of the QMs first and then run the rcdmqimg command and then proceed to shutdown of the QMs.

is it absoultely critical to stop the channels for backup?

i just need help with the stop channels part.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EddieA
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

There should not be any need to stop the channels before stopping the QM. They will be stopped as part of that process.

And if you use the -w option on endmqm, your script will wait for the QM to end before continuing.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Code:
STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(INACTIVE)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
csmith28
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

vennela wrote:
Code:
STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(INACTIVE)


You may not want to specify status(INACTIVE) if the channel is Triggered. If an application puts a message for remote delivery the channel will start again.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

We use a script

script file contains:
Code:
STOP CHL(CHL1)
STOP CHL(CHL2)
STOP CHL(...CHLn)
and we run it
Code:
runmqsc QMGR < script > stoplog

Then we run the imaging (rcdmqimg)
Then we stop the qmgr
do the backup
start qmgr
run script starting the channels.

You DO want to stop all the channels and shutdown all applications using the qmgr in bindings mode to have a clean offline backup image that matches the one taken by rcdmqimg.


Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
JasonE
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Hursley

Stating the obvious perhaps, but on windows (the original raiser!) backup the registry MQSeries tree (under HKLM\Software\IBM) as well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
btjo
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 07 Jul 2004
Posts: 19

Thanks everyone.!


fjb_saper wrote:
We use a script

script file contains:
Code:
STOP CHL(CHL1)
STOP CHL(CHL2)
STOP CHL(...CHLn)
and we run it
Code:
runmqsc QMGR < script > stoplog

Then we run the imaging (rcdmqimg)
Then we stop the qmgr
do the backup
start qmgr
run script starting the channels.

You DO want to stop all the channels and shutdown all applications using the qmgr in bindings mode to have a clean offline backup image that matches the one taken by rcdmqimg.


Enjoy


this solution will just work fine for me.

will try to add the status part in the script itself.

Code:


STOP CHANNEL(chlname) status(STOPPED)



i have found that to be more reliable and of course i will have to worry only about application queues.

Good point JasonE about the windows part.

thanks again to all who replied.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

You shouldn't have to specify (STOPPED). It is the default when you run "stop chl".
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » backup
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.