Author |
Message
|
btdo |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:23 am Post subject: Client to Server Connection |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hello
I have written a simple client application that would put message into a queue in the mainframe. I have tested the application on a machine with both the MQ client and MQ server environment installed and it works fine, but I am having trouble connecting to a remote server. Here is what i have done, please let me know what I am missing
On Mainframe
1. Created and ran a Queue manager called QM_NCR215 ( located at 10.54.194.222)
2. Created a queue JJR_FR_TEST_D1
3. Defined a server connection using
DEFINE CHANNEL(C_TEST1) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN) TRPTYPE(TCP) +
DESCR('Server-Connection to client')
On the Client
1. Defined a client connection on DOS
SET MQSERVER = C_TEST1/TCP/10.54.194.222
That's all. I am also wondering if I need to define a client connection on the mainframe, and what would that do ?. I have read the "Help" file for this topic in MQ and it did not say to create a client connection so I am not sure. Let me know what you think |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You should have posted this in the Mainframe/CICS section, as it's a mainframe question. But don't repost it.
You need the Client Attachment Facility.
You also need to solve the security problems that will arise after you get the Client Attachment Facility. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btdo |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hi
Sorry about posting in the wrong forum. What is Client Attachment Facility ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
btdo wrote: |
Hi
Sorry about posting in the wrong forum. What is Client Attachment Facility ? |
It's the piece of mainframe software you need to buy in order to allow clients to attach to your mainframe MQ.
Consult your z/OS system administrator for more information. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
Search IBM's website. You are looking for :
5655-F10 MQSeries Client Attach Facility for z/OS |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btdo |
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:42 am Post subject: Client to Server Connection |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hi
I have also tried the software with the server instead of the mainframe and it gives me the reason code : 2059 (Queue Manager not available). Would you know how I can fix this for Server ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Do you have your listener running on the server? Search here for runmqlsr. I'd also suggest looking in the errors subdirectory to see if a tcp/ip error is thrown. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
You have to start the listener on port 1414 if
Quote: |
SET MQSERVER = C_TEST1/TCP/10.54.194.222 |
If you want to use a different port to start your listener then you should for example
SET MQSERVER=C_TEST1/TCP/10.54.194.222(1415) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|