Author |
Message
|
queuetip |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 12:22 pm Post subject: Under The Covers of How WaitInterval Works? |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 67
|
If a program issues a MQGET with a WaitInterval of 5000 (i.e. 5 seconds) to an empty queue, we know that the program will wait UP TO 5 seconds before returning a not found condition (i.e. reason code = 2033).
I have two questions based upon a message hitting the queue AFTER the MQGET was issued while it is WITHIN the WaitInterval time...
1) What is the SEQUENCE OF EVENTS between MQSeries, the operating system and the application program thread FROM when the message hits the queue TO the point the application retrieves it (possibly different answer per platform - NT, SUN, z/OS)?
2) HOW LONG is the time starting FROM when the message hits the queue TO the time the application retrieves it? (possibly different answer per platform - NT, SUN, z/OS)? Looking for something like a heartbeat.
Thanks - need to know the details because we are fine tuning our application! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
malammik |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 1:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 Posts: 397 Location: Philadelphia, PA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
queuetip |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 67
|
I knew it had to be something like this. Just didn't know if there was something like a parameter that could be configured.
So if I understand it, the bottom line is when you enter the WaitInterval state you transfer the response time responsibilty to the operating system's environment.
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 3:20 am Post subject: Re: Under The Covers of How WaitInterval Works? |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
queuetip wrote: |
Thanks - need to know the details because we are fine tuning our application! |
You're likely overtuning.
Concentrate on your app logic. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
queuetip |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 67
|
Please don't jump to the conclusion that we are focused on just this one item. We are look at MANY other things and not just the application! That would be extremely short-sighted.
The intent was to gain understanding to see if there was a tuning opportunity here. Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
queuetip wrote: |
Please don't jump to the conclusion that we are focused on just this one item. We are look at MANY other things and not just the application! That would be extremely short-sighted.
The intent was to gain understanding to see if there was a tuning opportunity here. Thank you. |
I wasn't jumping to the conclusion that you were only looking at this.
I was jumping to the conclusion that you were looking every BUT your app.
In my opinion, it is never worthwhile to look at infrastructure UNTIL it has been shown that the app has been optimized first. But most people disagree with this...  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|