Author |
Message
|
nboucher |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Apr 2002 Posts: 24
|
Hi,
I have to handles the possibilities of contact admin work. Meaning that my system
must handles work item that won't be assigned to anybody...what will be the best way to handles that???
The problem here that I am facing is that I would like to handles it without assigning/copying the same workitem to a huge amount of people...
Any ideas/comments...
Thank you, Nadine
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vedbhat |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Singapore
|
Hi,
When you create your process model you need to specify whether the activities are automatic or manual. For these types of activities you can assign the user statically or dynamically.
If you want assign this activity to a specific user/group of people then you specify this option under Staff1 tab of the activity else you can use dynamic option under Staff2 tab. If the option is dynamic then user/group of user is normally passed through the container.
If the work item requires human interaction and the work item is not correctly assigned, I guess your process model is incorrect.
Please look at the Staff assignment in the Buildtime Manual for more details.
If you are looking for pending activities then - If Person X is given permission to access all other peoples worklist, he can act on the pending workitem.
I hope this will help.
Regards
Ved |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nboucher |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Apr 2002 Posts: 24
|
Hi Ved,
Could you please give me more details on:
"...If the option is dynamic then user/group of user is normally passed through the container. "
How the value of the container will be set????? Basically what I am trying to do is to dynamically assign a process (for example, a claim) to a role...
I would like to have a process call CreateClaim to which I will pass in some data (the claim infos)...one thing that I must be able to set dynamically is the ROLE for that process instance since base on the data, the newly created claims must be assigned to some users that are part of a role.
At some other point I might call that same process CreateClaim again but I would like to assign it to another role based on the data (ex: documentType) passed in...does it make sense? Can I do that?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vedbhat |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Singapore
|
Hi,
Below is the code which set the container element using Visual Basic. Here memPortfolioNumber and memPortfolioName are the Container elements to which the data from the text box on the form is passed.
Regarding the Dynamic assignment - The value is set to a variable or the predefined element in the data structure and use them in the Staff2 page.
I hope this will be of your help.
Regards
Ved
Code
===
' Get the Output Container for the Activity
Set cnrOut = myform.ContainerCtrlOut.Container
rc = cnrOut.OutContainer
If (rc <> 0) Then
MsgBox "Getting output container failed (rc = " & rc & ").", 16, "Error"
End If
' Set all the parameters from the Input Container
rc = cnrOut.SetValueLng("memPortfolioNumber", txtPortfolioNumber, False, 0)
If (rc <> 0) Then
MsgBox "Storing Portfolio Number failed (rc = " & rc & ").", 16, "Error"
End If
rc = cnrOut.SetValueStr("memPortfolioName", txtPortfolioName, False, 0)
If (rc <> 0) Then
MsgBox "Storing Portfolio Name failed (rc = " & rc & ").", 16, "Error"
End If
' Set the Container to the activity
rc = cnrOut.SetOutContainer
If (rc <> 0) Then
MsgBox "Storing the data failed (rc = " & rc & ").", 16, "Error"
End If
_________________ IBM Certified Solutions Expert - MQSeries Workflow
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vedbhat |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 7:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Singapore
|
Hi,
Your question - At some other point I might call that same process CreateClaim again but I would like to assign it to another role based on the data (ex: documentType) passed in...does it make sense? Can I do that?
Answer -
Yes, you can assign the activity to some other person depending on the documentType. In order to achieve this you have to use Dynamic assignment.
You can look at the Redbook - MQSeries Workflow for Windows NT for Beginners
Cheers
Ved
_________________ IBM Certified Solutions Expert - MQSeries Workflow
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nboucher |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Apr 2002 Posts: 24
|
Thanks for the code example, it is perfect regarding the Input Container...
I look at the .pdf you make reference Regarding the Dynamic Staff Assignment...
so if I understand properly, you're saying that in order to assign dynamic ROLE to a Container Process I must do the following:
In Builtime, from the activities properties in the process
- Select "Dynamic assignment from page 2" under Staff 1 tab
- Select all the roles that might be allow to start this activities "CreateClaim" and add them under "Members of roles" under the Staff2 tab
...and that will allows me to allows people from different roles to executed the activities...
I have one more question though...
Under the Process Properties, there is a TAB staff...in which occasion will I selected "From Container" in the section "Role"???
...and what value is supposed to be set in the Text Field beside the "From container"???
Thanks again
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vedbhat |
Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2002 8:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Singapore
|
Hi,
No, You need to declare a variable in the program which is of type String array. Within your program, Add all the roles to this array and then specify this variable in the textbox you specified. This will make assignment dynamic but if you specify all the roles in the Staff2 page itself then it becomes static.
I hope you understand what I am trying to say.
Regards
Ved
_________________ IBM Certified Solutions Expert - MQSeries Workflow
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nboucher |
Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 5:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Apr 2002 Posts: 24
|
Ved,
I hope I *also* understand what your saying!!!
I'll just put here again what *I think* I understand...
In Builtime, from the activities properties in the process
- Under the TAB "Staff 1", Select "Dynamic assignment from page 2"
- Under the TAB "Staff 2", select "Member of roles from container"
and choose the variable that I have declare and which is
of type String array and that contains all the roles that I want...
Is that correct?
Thanks and...
Sorry for the confusion... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 6:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Nadine:
First: Work will NEVER be contact admin. Work will be assigned to the Process Administrator, IF there is no user avaialble to be assigned based on the Activity's Staff Assignment criteria.
I don't understand exactly what your concern is here, but I when I put a Model together I always assign a Process Administrator. Generally this person is a Dummy Person (i.e they never actually log on) who has NO WORK ASSIGNED TO THEM. Then I have notifications sent to this person. Now, I have a utility program that will go out and process the work on this "Dummy" person's worklist (this is usually on a cron). When the program runs it will deal with the situations it finds. What you do will be up to you for each individual model, but generally there are 4 possiblities:
1. Workitem found. This indicates some type of problem with the model, since the only way work should end up on this user's worklist is in the case that MQWF could not find any person to assign. These need to be taken care of.
2. 1st Activity Notification found. Generally I send an email to who ever can deal with the fact that this activity is late.
3. 2nd Activity Notification found. Same as above.
4. Process Instance Notification found. Same as above.
Hope this helps.
_________________
John McDonald
SYSCOM Inc.
IBM Certified Solutions Expert -
MQSeries Workflow
[ This Message was edited by: jmac on 2002-04-25 07:30 ]
[ This Message was edited by: jmac on 2002-04-25 07:31 ] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vedbhat |
Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 19 Mar 2002 Posts: 186 Location: Singapore
|
Hi,
What ever John said is true, Activity never goes un assigned.
Regarding the Dynamic assignment, What ever you said is correct.
I hope this will solve your problem.
Regards
Ved
_________________ IBM Certified Solutions Expert - MQSeries Workflow
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nboucher |
Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2002 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Apr 2002 Posts: 24
|
Thanks Ved and John for your help!!!!!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|