Author |
Message
|
mq_amateur |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:23 pm Post subject: break a large message to smaller messages. |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 29 Apr 2005 Posts: 3
|
If I have a very large message that the application breaks up into several smaller messages and sents in a MQ cluster, how do I ensure that all the small messages reach the same physical queue ignoring load balancing. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Using bind on open or putting a specified qmgr name in the mqmds. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_amateur |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 29 Apr 2005 Posts: 3
|
can you elaborate . I am new to MQ.
I have a java app that breaks up the messages and expects all the messages to go to a certain cluster Q(1 physical location) and the next set of messages to another cluster Q (different physical location) , load balancing should exist between the 2 sets of messages. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
On the MQOpen call, specify the option MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN.
Quote: |
This causes the local queue manager to bind the queue handle to a particular instance of the destination queue when the queue is opened. As a result, all messages put using this handle are sent to the same instance of the destination queue, and by the same route. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
mq_amateur wrote: |
load balancing should exist between the 2 sets of messages. |
then you will need to close and open the queue between each set. Or, again, write the load balancing yourself and specify the different QMGRs in the MQMD. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
How large is this message that you want to break up? (you may be doing it unnecessarily and causing yourself extra work) _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_amateur |
Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 29 Apr 2005 Posts: 3
|
more than 4 MB . The other thing is I have MDBs configured to read the message and want to improve performance on the MDB side ,(parsing and processing ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|