ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Custom Java Node - Design question

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Custom Java Node - Design question « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
prasadpav
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:44 am    Post subject: Custom Java Node - Design question Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 142

Hi all,
This question is related to Message Broker V5.0 CSD 02 on Windows XP

In my project, we have got a requirement to do string replacements in PCL format files (printer format files). This file is produced by another application and stored on a web server. This size of this file can go upto 20-30MB or may be more. What we are trying to achieve now is to create a custom java node to retrieve the file from web server as InputStream then apply replace logic. After this entire operation is done, stick the file back to the web server. Couple of questions around designing custom java node: 1) Is this solution do-able using custom java node? 2) Do I need to worry about the message broker memory limitations when dealing with large files. If yes, one way we are planning to do is:Retrieve the file from web server in 1024 byte buffer size, do the replacement and then write the outputstream back to the web server. This loop goes on until end of stream. 3) If creating custom java node is not better solution, then any alternative solutions? 4) Are there any issues that I need to worry about while creating custom java node?

In between, I was creating one custom java node (not related to the above problem). When I tried "create Plugin JARs" (by right clicking on plugin.xml) i was getting the following error:

cannot find plugin: com.ibm.etools.mft.uri_5.0.0

I dont know why this plugin is missing. Is there any fix for this or am I doing something wrong?

Any inputs is greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Prasad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You have to add a lot of plugins to your workspace as binary projects in order for the PDE tooling to work.

I do not understand why you are doing this as a broker plug-in. Particularly the way you want to - where all the work is contained in the plug-in. In this scenario, the broker is just an invocation engine - "Hey, something happened, do stuff!".

1) Yes
2) Yes
3) Put the file on a queue, use ESQL to search and replace the data, put the transformed file on a queue, have the webserver reload the new file.
4) Many.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malammik
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Philadelphia, PA

I dont think using a broker plugin is the good solution here. U are not using any of the broker functionality. It's like using a nuke when u need a flash light.
_________________
Mikhail Malamud
http://www.netflexity.com
http://groups.google.com/group/qflex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
prasadpav
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 142

yes, you guys are right. This is one of the proposed solution, which we scraped off now. Thanks for your suggestions though.

Coming to my plugin issue, I tried the sample from MessageBroker - Help contents for creating sample plugin node. But during creating external JARs it complains about the missing plugin. Where can I find the list of plugins that I need to import to my workspace before I create JARs? Please point me to right source. Thanks.

Regards,
Prasad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

prasadpav wrote:
Coming to my plugin issue, I tried the sample from MessageBroker - Help contents for creating sample plugin node. But during creating external JARs it complains about the missing plugin. Where can I find the list of plugins that I need to import to my workspace before I create JARs? Please point me to right source. Thanks.


As far as I know, the right source is you.

The way I solved this problem was to keep adding plugin fragments until it stopped complaining.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malammik
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Philadelphia, PA

You need to drop all the dependant jar files into classes directory.
_________________
Mikhail Malamud
http://www.netflexity.com
http://groups.google.com/group/qflex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

malammik wrote:
You need to drop all the dependant jar files into classes directory.

This is for the eclipse side of the plug-in, not the broker side. He's asking about compiling his plug-in for the Tooling.

Also, this part of the process is a standard part of building an eclipse plug-in. You might look at the PDE help section in the info center, or on the Eclipse website.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malammik
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 397
Location: Philadelphia, PA

sorry about that. There is a thorough walk through in the infocenter that takes u step by step creating a plugin node.
_________________
Mikhail Malamud
http://www.netflexity.com
http://groups.google.com/group/qflex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
spidey888
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Poland

Hello everyone - it's my first post

Well, I've had the same problem. I resolved it by removing the "version" attribute from the "import" element in plugin.xml file.

Other words: I've changed the line:

Code:
<import match="equivalent" plugin="com.ibm.etools.mft.api" version="5.0.0"/>


into this:

Code:
<import match="equivalent" plugin="com.ibm.etools.mft.api" />


Hope this helps
_________________
What if I take your hand and cut your fingers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Custom Java Node - Design question
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.