ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » CHANNEL TRIGGERING

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 CHANNEL TRIGGERING « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ak72
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:45 am    Post subject: CHANNEL TRIGGERING Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 13

Hi ALL,
I am using the following command to start the channel initiator but it is giving the following error

runmqchi -m BKQM(queue manager) -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ(initiation queue)
5724-B41 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2002. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
4/8/2005 11:19:54 AMQ9509: Program cannot open queue manager object.

can any one tell me how to slove this.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Check to see if a channel initiator is already running and listening on the SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oz1ccg
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 10 Feb 2002
Posts: 628
Location: Denmark

Check the error logs of MQ or eventlog. Typicly you can get a clue here.

Just my $0.02
_________________
Regards, Jørgen
Home of BlockIP2, the last free MQ Security exit ver. 3.00
Cert. on WMQ, WBIMB, SWIFT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ak72
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 13

Hi JT,
As you said the channel initiator was running now i am abel to issue the command and it works but when i put the message on to the queue the channel is not getting started .
1) I have a remote queue
2) a transmit queue ( triggering set on this )

when i am putting a message on the remote queue the message is on the transmit queue and the channel is not getting started as it should. Any views on this.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ak72
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 13

The channel is stopped and when i put a message on the remote queue i get this error
AMQ9534: Channel 'BKQM.MMS_QM3' is currently not enabled

I tought that channel triggering means that we can start a channel when a message reaches the transmit queue
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Only when the channel is inactive, not stopped.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anirud
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Vermont

Start your channel and check this...
Under runmqsc, do
Code:
display channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) all

check for the
Code:
DISCINT
value (this value is in seconds).
Default value is 6000 seconds.
Do
Code:
alter channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) chltype(sdr) discint(300)

Now, if there is no activity for 5 minutes, your channel will go to inactive state.
If you do a
Code:
dis chstatus(BKQM.MMS_QM3)
it should give you
Code:
Channel status not found


Now, you can try your triggering example.
Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vennela
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

One alternative way is (with MQ 5.3)
Code:

stop channel(channelname) status(inactive)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JT
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Anirud wrote:
check for the
Code:
DISCINT
value (this value is in seconds).
Default value is 6000 seconds.
Do
Code:
alter channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) chltype(sdr) discint(300)

Now, if there is no activity for 5 minutes, your channel will go to inactive state.

Why wait 5 minutes? Why not change the disconnect interval to just 1 second?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EddieA
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 28 Jun 2001
Posts: 2453
Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
Why wait 5 minutes? Why not change the disconnect interval to just 1 second

Because if another message arrives 2 seconds later you have to go through the overhead of starting the channel up again.

It's a balancing act to determine how long to hold the channel open, in case another message comes along, as opposed to the overhead of stopping/starting the channel if one doesn't.

Cheers,
_________________
Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » CHANNEL TRIGGERING
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.