Author |
Message
|
ak72 |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:45 am Post subject: CHANNEL TRIGGERING |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2005 Posts: 13
|
Hi ALL,
I am using the following command to start the channel initiator but it is giving the following error
runmqchi -m BKQM(queue manager) -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ(initiation queue)
5724-B41 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2002. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
4/8/2005 11:19:54 AMQ9509: Program cannot open queue manager object.
can any one tell me how to slove this.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Check to see if a channel initiator is already running and listening on the SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
oz1ccg |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 10 Feb 2002 Posts: 628 Location: Denmark
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ak72 |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2005 Posts: 13
|
Hi JT,
As you said the channel initiator was running now i am abel to issue the command and it works but when i put the message on to the queue the channel is not getting started .
1) I have a remote queue
2) a transmit queue ( triggering set on this )
when i am putting a message on the remote queue the message is on the transmit queue and the channel is not getting started as it should. Any views on this.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ak72 |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2005 Posts: 13
|
The channel is stopped and when i put a message on the remote queue i get this error
AMQ9534: Channel 'BKQM.MMS_QM3' is currently not enabled
I tought that channel triggering means that we can start a channel when a message reaches the transmit queue
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Only when the channel is inactive, not stopped. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
Start your channel and check this...
Under runmqsc, do
Code: |
display channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) all |
check for the
value (this value is in seconds).
Default value is 6000 seconds.
Do
Code: |
alter channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) chltype(sdr) discint(300) |
Now, if there is no activity for 5 minutes, your channel will go to inactive state.
If you do a
Code: |
dis chstatus(BKQM.MMS_QM3) |
it should give you
Code: |
Channel status not found |
Now, you can try your triggering example.
Hope this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
One alternative way is (with MQ 5.3)
Code: |
stop channel(channelname) status(inactive) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Anirud wrote: |
check for the
value (this value is in seconds).
Default value is 6000 seconds.
Do
Code: |
alter channel(BKQM.MMS_QM3) chltype(sdr) discint(300) |
Now, if there is no activity for 5 minutes, your channel will go to inactive state.
|
Why wait 5 minutes? Why not change the disconnect interval to just 1 second? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
Why wait 5 minutes? Why not change the disconnect interval to just 1 second |
Because if another message arrives 2 seconds later you have to go through the overhead of starting the channel up again.
It's a balancing act to determine how long to hold the channel open, in case another message comes along, as opposed to the overhead of stopping/starting the channel if one doesn't.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|