Author |
Message
|
Anirud |
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:01 am Post subject: runmqlsr on Linux |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
Hi,
OS: Red Hat Enterprise Linux AS release 3 (Taroon)
Kernel 2.4.21-4.ELsmp on an i686
MQ: 5.3.0.6
I am trying to start a listener on Linux using the command
Code: |
nohup runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414 > /var/mqm/log/QM1.nohup 2>&1 & |
Now, if I do
Code: |
ps -ef | grep runmqlsr |
I get the following
Code: |
mqm 13652 13543 0 11:39 pts/0 00:00:00 runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414
mqm 13653 13652 0 11:39 pts/0 00:00:00 runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414
mqm 13655 13653 0 11:39 pts/0 00:00:00 runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414
mqm 13656 13653 0 11:39 pts/0 00:00:00 runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414
mqm 13657 13653 0 11:39 pts/0 00:00:00 runmqlsr -m QM1 -t tcp -p 1414
mqm 13706 13543 0 11:45 pts/0 00:00:00 grep runmqlsr
|
QM1 is the only queue manager on this box and the channels from the other end to QM1 are starting and everything looks good.
Why is it showing five instances?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
On Linux the ps command shows each thread in a process separately, so you have a sinlgle runmqlsr process which would be represented by a single output line in ps on UNIX platforms. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
This is a Linux thing. It's normal for Linux. Some one explained it to me once but I've slept since then.
Oooh, yeah,.... what Nigel said......  _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
From what you said, I am taking it as a normal behaviour and not worry about it.
Thank You. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tricky_knight |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 12:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 34
|
but any number of remote qmgr clients could connect to your listener (more than the 5 shown) correct? (if max channels is set high enough also I'd assume)
I guess it is just confusing why it shows 5 thread processes. but you can use more than five... and in reality it is only one listener. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
malammik |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 Posts: 397 Location: Philadelphia, PA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
tricky_knight wrote: |
but any number of remote qmgr clients could connect to your listener (more than the 5 shown) correct? (if max channels is set high enough also I'd assume) |
You only need one listener per queue manager for any number of connections (default would be 200 connections).
The multiple instances shown on Linux is because of the NPTL (Native Posix Thread Library), if I am not wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|