Author |
Message
|
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:41 pm Post subject: Channel starting n stopping sometimes |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
Hi,
Our MQ channel starts sometimes and does not start occasionally when we use the "start channel(channel name) " mqsc command.
There is 1 queue manager only, a transmission queue is defined, a sender channel defined, a local transmission queue used with triggering, a remote queue defined.
I was thinking we need to define a dead letter queue other than the SYSTEM DEAD LETTER Queue? Could this be the reason for the errors.
we are using only queues (no topics).
I checked the log files and it says the log file is too big.
Any suggestions urgently needed, pls advise.
thanks
sk. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
I created a new local queue as dead letter queue
DEF QL(TEST) USAGE(XMITQ)
is that right??
Can / Should i alter the QM too.
ALTER QMGR DEADQ(TEST)
Please advise and suggest urgently...Appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
What do the "CHANNEL.EVENT" queues tell you? _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
I am sorry but i am not sure of CHANNEL.EVENT, where do i need to look at for that. I am a beginner, please advise. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:23 pm Post subject: Re: Channel starting n stopping sometimes |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Please post what platform and WMQ Version..
sksairam wrote: |
Hi,
Our MQ channel starts sometimes and does not start occasionally when we use the "start channel(channel name) " mqsc command. |
What does it say in the /var/mqm/qmgrs/QMGR/errors/AMQERR01.LOG? If there is a problem with the channel starting it should have an AMQ9999 error.
What is the status of the channel after the start chl fails?
Quote: |
There is 1 queue manager only, a transmission queue is defined, a sender channel defined, a local transmission queue used with triggering, a remote queue defined. |
Is Triggering properly defined? If TRIGGER is properly configured on the XMITQ you shouldn't have to start the channel manually unless it has been stopped or there is some other problem. Please post the results of a dis ql(QUEUE.NAME) of the XMITQ.
Quote: |
I was thinking we need to define a dead letter queue other than the SYSTEM DEAD LETTER Queue? Could this be the reason for the errors. |
Shouldn't really matter unless the messages can't be delivered for some reason but it is always a good idea to have a default DLQ defined.
Quote: |
I checked the log files and it says the log file is too big. |
What logs did you check? _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
sksairam wrote: |
I created a new local queue as dead letter queue
DEF QL(TEST) USAGE(XMITQ)
is that right??
Can / Should i alter the QM too.
ALTER QMGR DEADQ(TEST)
Please advise and suggest urgently...Appreciated. |
Whoa.
You are defining a queue as an XMITQ. Then you telling the QM to use that XMITQ as the DLQ.
I've a feeling that this could end in an endless loop if a message intended for the DLQ ever ended up here. It's a DLQ message, so it has a DLQ header. But, this is an XMITQ, so MQ will complain that it doesn't have an XMIT header. So, it will put it to the DLQ. Ad nauseum.
Are you sure you know what you are doing.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Eddie is right
Generally speaking your SDLQ shouldn't be an XMITQ the usage should be NORMAL. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 2:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
Thanks for the tips, i was a bit confused.
I checked the AMQERR01.LOG and i did a tail -20 AMQERR01.LOG but there are no AMQ9999 messages.
I did a "dis ql(queuename)" too and the "system.channel.initq" is the initialization queue used, put is enabled, get is disabled, usage is xmitq, TrigType is first. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
The channel status is initially STOPPED, when i start the channel and again check the status it says RETRYING.
DEFINE CHL(A.B) CHLTYPE(SDR) TRPTYPE(TCP) CONNAME('IP(1414)') XMITQ(TEST) REPLACE
DEFINE QL(B) USAGE(XMITQ) TRIGGER TRIGDATA(A.B) INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(100000) REPLACE
DEFINE QR(D.E) XMITQ(B) RQMNAME(B) RNAME(F.E) REPLACE
THERE ARE OTHER LOCAL QUEUES WHICH ARE NORMAL.
Please advise... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
What is the operating system?
What version of WMQ?
What is the value of TRIGDATA or PROCESS on your XMITQ? Your XMITQ needs to know what it is supposed to TRIGGER. If it is supposed to TRIGGER a SDR Channel then the name of the Sender Channel needs to be in the TRIGDATA field of the XMITQ definition. If it is supposed to TRIGGER a PROCESS then it's a whole other story.
Which AMQERR01.LOG did you tail. There are three instance of that file on most WMQ Servers:
/var/mqm/errors/AMQERR01.LOG
/var/mqm/qmgrs/QMGR/errors/AMQERR01.LOG
/var/mqm/qmgrs/@SYSTEM/errors/AMQERR01.LOG
The relevent one in this instance is the /var/mqm/qmgrs/QMGR/errors/AMQERR01.LOG.
Your tail may not have gone far enough back. Twenty lines isn't much in these logs, vi or view the file and search for 9999. The error above the AMQ9999 entry will tell you why the channel ended abnormally. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Quote: |
DEFINE CHL(A.B) CHLTYPE(SDR) TRPTYPE(TCP) CONNAME('IP(1414)') XMITQ(TEST) REPLACE
DEFINE QL(B) USAGE(XMITQ) TRIGGER TRIGDATA(A.B) INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(100000) REPLACE
DEFINE QR(D.E) XMITQ(B) RQMNAME(B) RNAME(F.E) REPLACE
THERE ARE OTHER LOCAL QUEUES WHICH ARE NORMAL. |
You don't list the transmission queue TEST. According to your definitions, the transmission queue for the channel should be:
Quote: |
DEFINE CHL(A.B) CHLTYPE(SDR) TRPTYPE(TCP) CONNAME('IP(1414)') XMITQ(B) REPLACE |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
Thanks for the information to all.
I am using red hat linux 3.x with wmq 5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
You are right, I apologize there is a typo below for XMITQ.
DEFINE CHL(A.B) CHLTYPE(SDR) TRPTYPE(TCP) CONNAME('IP(1414)') XMITQ(TEST) REPLACE |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sairam |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 07 Mar 2005 Posts: 120
|
What is the value of TRIGDATA or PROCESS on your XMITQ? Your XMITQ needs to know what it is supposed to TRIGGER. If it is supposed to TRIGGER a SDR Channel then the name of the Sender Channel needs to be in the TRIGDATA field of the XMITQ definition. If it is supposed to TRIGGER a PROCESS then it's a whole other story.
>>> We are using a sender channel and i have given that name in the TRIGDATA attribute. As you see above in the QL definition -- There are only TRIGGER, TRIGDATA, INITQ, DEFPSIST,MAXDEPTH attributes. Do we need to give the TRIGTYPE, TRIGDPTH,TRIGMPRI too ???
Which AMQERR01.LOG did you tail. There are three instance of that file on most WMQ Servers:
>>> i actually looked at the /var/mqm/errors/AMQERR01.LOG logs, but i will look at the one you have mentioned.
Thank You. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
/var/mqm/errors/AMQERR0*.LOG's are not used to record MQManager specific events such as channels starting or stopping or ending abnormally.
Please do have a look at the AMQERR01.LOG in /var/mqm/qmgrs/MQMGR/errors.
When you do a dis ql against your XMITQ the important fields are:
GET(ENABLED) Note: GET will be DISABLED if the SDR channel is in a STOPPED Status.
PUT(EBABLED)
TRIGGER
TRIGTYPE(FIRST)
TRIGDPTH(1)
TRIGDATA(CHANNEL.NAME)
INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) or uniquely defined INITQ
It sounds like your XMITQ definition is right. TRIGMPRI is for triggering once a message with a specified prioroity arives on the Queue. DEFPSIST and MAXDEPTH don't have much to do with triggering.
I am eager to see what you find in the /var/mqm/qmgrs/QMGR/errors/AMQERR01.LOG
Again, I am also interested in knowing what the status of the SDR Channel is after you attempt to start it with the start chl command and it fails. When you do a "dis chs(CHANNEL) all" is it in a RETRY, PAUSED, BINDING.....
Is the Channel INDOUBT(NO) or (YES)?
And what is the name of the Transmit Queue? Is it TEST or is it B?
I thought TEST was the name of the DLQ that you most recently defined. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|