Author |
Message
|
jimmykan |
Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 10:46 pm Post subject: APITimeout variable |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Dec 2004 Posts: 9
|
Hi,
I've tried to modify the timeout value for communication between the client and server. However this didn't have any affect on the timeout. It remained at approximately 3 mins.
I executed this command:
fmczchk -c inst:m,APITimeout,10000 -y LU72
I then checked the fmcrc file and verified that the expected line was present.
When I restarted and retested the application the timeout was still at around 3 mins. My application does not set the timeout value in its code.
Did I miss anything?
Thanks,
Jimmy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
what you are doing is perfectly fine. Your application seems not to pick up the profile that you expect.
- Is your application running under configID LU72?
- Is you application using this fmcrc profile file?
- Do you have specified APITimeout also in general config / install profile?
- Are you using the native Java API? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jimmykan |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Dec 2004 Posts: 9
|
Hi
Quote: |
Is your application running under configID LU72? |
Yes
Quote: |
Is you application using this fmcrc profile file? |
Yes I think so since my app uses LU72 and I edited the fmcrc under LU72
Quote: |
Do you have specified APITimeout also in general config / install profile? |
I don't think so. How can I check? Are they stored in /var/fmc/fmcrc?
Quote: |
Are you using the native Java API? |
No, I am using old one in MQWF 3.4 that uses JNI.
Thanks,
Jimmy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 5:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Jimmy:
I have never played with this, so what I am suggesting is something to try if you haven't already. There is a setTimout() api on the execution service that might do what you are looking for. Please let us know if this works for you
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jimmykan |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Dec 2004 Posts: 9
|
Hi jmac,
Thanks for your suggestion. Unfortunately it's not what I'm looking for because I'm trying to do a system-wide test on error handling when MQWF is down.
In my application there there are many calls to the ExecutionService, if I set the timeout value via the API, then I would need to modify code in numerous areas just for this test. I want to modify the timeout value at the systems level rather than at the code level.
I also want to know how to set it at the system level so that I can provide support to our production staff in configuring MQWF.
thanks,
Jimmy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jimmykan |
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Dec 2004 Posts: 9
|
Hi,
The setTimeout() method call works. I just tried it on one of the buttons in my application.
I still need to figure out a way to set it at the system level.
Thanks,
Jimmy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
that's strange. I would switch on the trace facility on the client machine and look for "APITimeout". The profile value is fetched once per ExecutionService instance during the first Logon() call provided that no SetTimeout() call has been invoked before, on that ExecutionService.
Also make sure that your profile entry exactly matches the case. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|