ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » MQSeries use on the Mainframe

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 MQSeries use on the Mainframe « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
thindk00
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 5:58 am    Post subject: MQSeries use on the Mainframe Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 75
Location: UK

Hi,

We have a requirement whereby we need to get some data from a Mainframe to a Solaris machine. We would like to use MQSeries as the transport mechanism and would like the data to be sent with an MQRFH2 header followed by an XML message payload. We may be able to get the Mainframe applications to create the message payload in the correct format and write it to a file. We need to find a simple way of creating a MQSeries message, attaching a MQRFH2 header (containing configurable values) and appending the XML payload which has been read from a file.

Is there a simple way of achieving this using a support pac or off the shelf adapter perhaps? If there is an alternative way of doing this I would be interested on your thoughts also.

Thanks in advance,

Kulbir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

what programming language are you contemplating ?
Java, C, Cobol ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
thindk00
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Implementation choices Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 75
Location: UK

Hi,

We're open to suggestions, although I believe we may have a restriction with JRE only being at version 1.2 and I don't believe we will be able to easily update it.

Ideally we'd rather not have to program anything specifically for this and just use an adapter or utility that may already have been developed.

Cheers,

Kulbir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

The M/F does NOT support a client connections to another queue manager. You can have clients connect to a M/F queue manager but not the other way around.

If you don't want to install MQ on the M/F (your comments from the MQ ListServer) then there is not an easy way to the data off the M/F except for ftp, IND$FILE, etc...

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thindk00
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:40 am    Post subject: MQ is installed on MF Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 75
Location: UK

Oops! MQ is installed on the MF, we just don't have the capability to be able to send a message with an MQRFH2 header attaching some payload. That's why I'm wondering about useful utilities/off the shelf adapters.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

If you have access to MQ on M/F then just send the message to your broker. If you really don't want to change the broker then I think you will need to write some code.

I would strongly suggest that you update/adjust the broker to accept your message without MQRFH2 header and let it add the necessary headers for you. That is the point of the broker!!!

It is far better to build it the right way the first time out!

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thindk00
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:53 am    Post subject: Broker functionality Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 75
Location: UK

Hi,

I agree it would be easier to add the header in the broker as it is good at doing these types of things. However we want to standardise on message flows, message interfaces and therefore ensure applications send data in consistent formats.

In addition to this, making the coding changes to the broker could take half a day, to get it implemented with all the levels of documentation would take up to 3 months!

There are a number of items that would need to change if we began to let applications send data using non-standard headers. For example, we have a channel exit and associated message flow that logs all the messages as they arrive in the broker so we can do message tracking and auditing. If the messages don't contain the correct header they would not be logged. If the message formats change we need to make changes to these areas as well. This is why we need to ensure the application sends a message using a MQRFH2 header.

Easiest option on doing this would be most useful !

Thanks for your responses and please keep them coming in!

Kulbir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

We have developed a file to message utility that removes the need to deal with MQSeries headers and so on in applications. We also have a "wrapper" callable by programs for direct message generation.

This is standard practice at many sites (to keep programmers away from using the MQI directly).

Surely coding a simple program to read this file, add the MQMD and issue MQPUTs to a queue would only take a Cobol or C programmer (or even in REXX if you want) about an hour to write.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thindk00
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:06 am    Post subject: Is any example code available? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 75
Location: UK

This is what we need. I agree it's something that is something that is simple to develop for someone who knows the MQAPI and has some programming experience. Unfortunately the group that needs to do this knows nothing about MQ, I'd like to be able to provide them with either a utility that does this ideally or with some sample code to help get them started. Is anything available that someone wouldn't mind sharing? Remember, we need to be able to add a MQRFH2 header to the message that we're generating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zpat
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

What mainframe programming languages can you code in?

There are probably samples available in most of them (check out the support pacs).

The IBM manuals will have code snippets and the Redbooks often have complete examples (see "web materials" link on a Redbook page).

There was a Redbook on MQSeries programming patterns not that long ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » MQSeries use on the Mainframe
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.