|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
BackOut Count |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Prasant Padhi |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 11:15 am Post subject: BackOut Count |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 01 Dec 2004 Posts: 4
|
I am devloping an application where the standard backout processing is as follows:
MQGET the message, and look at the backout count (one of the MQMD
properties/fields). If it is greater than zero, it means that the message
has been processed before, but that unit of work was rolled back . At this point, issue MQINQ on the queue to discover the backout threshold and queue name. If the backout count is greater than the threshold, then put the message into the backout queue.
My question is if the message is put to the backout queue after the threshold limit is reached does the backout count of the message gets resetted to zero? If not, is there some way to do so? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 11:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
if the message is put to the backout queue after the threshold limit is reached does the backout count of the message gets resetted to zero |
My guess would be yes, because this is a PUT to a different queue and you have not rolled back this message in this UOW.
Why not try it and see.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
When the message moves from the original queue to the backout queue, the backout count is set to zero. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
The field is ignored on the MQPUT, so when you MQPUT the message to the backout queue, it doesn't matter what you try to set it to, it will go onto the queue with a backout count of 0. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Add another piece of logic to your process.
If the backout threshold is > 0 and it has been exceeded but there is no backout queue defined, create a DLQ header reason backout exceeded and put the message to the DLQ. (same behavior as WAS.)
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|