Author |
Message
|
aboggis |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:26 pm Post subject: Incorrect CURDEPTH displayed? |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 18 Dec 2001 Posts: 105 Location: Auburn, California
|
I have a queue manager that is showing a current depth (non-zero) on several application queues. However, when I browse the queues (MQExplorer or amqsbcg) I get nothing. Also, when I browse the queues, the count does not go down to zero (as I might expect if there were expired messages).
The queues are set as non-persistent.
We do not use units-of-work (no Begin/End).
We do not set expiry time on messages. Apart from this "ghost" depth, everything seems ok. I can get/put messages as normal. I just can't seem to get curdepth to return to zero.
Suggestions? Am I missing something obvious?
This is on Solaris 5.8 with WMQ 5.3, CSD08.
I should also note that there are no indoubt or uncommited messages (since we don't even use units of work).
dspmqtrn reports: "There are no prepared transactions." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 2:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Are there any processes that have the queue open? Is it possible that somebody else has opened the queue and put a message inside a unit of work? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aboggis |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 18 Dec 2001 Posts: 105 Location: Auburn, California
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 5:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
I think dspmqtrn will show you the transactions that are started with MQBEGIN call.
Do you use SYNCPOINT option in your program? _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
I've sent you a PM with some diagnostic output you can gather for this. Of course, I probably should say talk to IBM service...  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
I would think that maybe the message are expired. Hence a queue depth # while no messages can be browsed/read. When you see the messages again try the +ssid REFRRSH TYPE(EXPIRY) NAME(queue-name)
and see if you still have a queue-depth. I hope this helps. _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
In the very first line
aboggis wrote: |
However, when I browse the queues (MQExplorer or amqsbcg) I get nothing. Also, when I browse the queues, the count does not go down to zero (as I might expect if there were expired messages).
|
You might want to read the posts before giving your reply.
Code: |
REFRRSH TYPE(EXPIRY) NAME(queue-name) |
If this is an MQSC command then you better tell the version of MQ it works with because it is not documented anywhere in the manuals and surprise it doesn't work too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
You dont seam to be helpfull at all. User error. _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
javagate wrote: |
You dont seam to be helpfull at all. User error. |
Somebody needs a hug. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
javagate |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 Posts: 159
|
I believe the command is (sorry I had posted it incorrectly). I will recheck my posts so I don't post incorrect info to mislead anyone.
+ssid REFRESH QMGR TYPE(EXPIREY) NAME(queue-name)
The command does work and is valid on MQSeries 5.3 & MQ 5.3.1 on z/OS.
I too have had problems with incorect queue depth and in every case the messages were expired. When I would browse/read the queue it was not a destructive read so the # did not go down.
Can you check the msg header to see if the expiry field is set to help dx if you are still having a problem with this? _________________ WebSphere Application Server 7.0 z/OS &
MQ 6.0. I work with WebSphere in the real world not in some IBM lab. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 4:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
The command does work and is valid on MQSeries 5.3 & MQ 5.3.1 on z/OS. |
And only on z/OS.
Quote: |
This is on Solaris 5.8 with WMQ 5.3, CSD08. |
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jgalvin03 |
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 Posts: 3
|
I know this problem happened on the Solaris environment but I wanted to let you know that I exeprienced the same exact problem on Z/os. We are running V5.3.1, and I had two applications have an issue where the queue depth was zero, yet curdepth showed messages within the queue. An IBM PTF, UQ89242, was implemented to fix the issue.
You might want to open a log with IBM and see if the problem has mainfested itself on a different platform.
John |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
I encountered the same issue today. This is on one of our transmission queues. The channels are running and the dead letter queue and the destination queue on the remote end are empty. The curdepth is increasing and when I try to look at the messages using MO60 (Message Browser for AIX), it doesn't show me any messages but the curdepth is 153. I did a refresh on the queue and still it's the same.
My Environment: MQ 5.3.0.5, AIX 5.2.
Thought of posting here to see if anyone else had or solved this issue. If there is no other go, I will have to follow John and contact IBM.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
Recycling the queue manager did the trick for me.
It was more than a year the queue manager was last recycled. I am not sure what went wrong but every thing is normal after the recycle. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|