Author |
Message
|
jmac |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:33 pm Post subject: [SOLVED]FMC00118E Object does not exist |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I am getting the following error when I attempt the following api calls:
WorkItem.inContainer()
WorkItem.outContainer()
API Return Code : 118
Error Message : FMC00118E Object does not exist
Has anyone ever seen this error from these api calls in a situation other than where the WorkItem does not exist? I know that will raise this error, but based on the code, this does not appear to be likely.
Thanks _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED
Last edited by jmac on Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:53 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 5:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
No webclient involved here, so it can't be that one. I had actually already thoght of this and I know that there are no OIDs involved.
It is a good link though
Thanks Volker _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
normally we get that error here when the user tries to action an item in the worklist that has already been actioned
the screen has not been refreshed and therefore the item is not in the same state and does not exist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
This is what I am leaning towards, but there is no human involved here, this is an automated program that goes out and does a queryWorkitems then it randomly (at least at this point it seems random to me) fails when trying to access the inContainer or the outContainer.
I have considered the fact that a double message coming in, and completing this activity and thus one of messages would get the Object does not exist, but the fact that the activity in question is still in the Ready state makes this unlikely. The message that did complete the item should have pused it to the next activity and I'm not seeing that.
Thanks for your help _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
not sure on yur performance etc BUT when we were doing strees testing and automated all the moving between states we found that we had to wait a few seconds so the item could loop round
i suspect (although not 100%) that what is happening is that the data has not updated and the automated process you are using is trying to access the item it previously was working on
Why it is not moving on I don't know without actually seeing it but as yu in USA and I am in South africa currently it would be difficult |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
nathanw wrote: |
not sure on yur performance etc BUT when we were doing strees testing and automated all the moving between states we found that we had to wait a few seconds so the item could loop round
i suspect (although not 100%) that what is happening is that the data has not updated and the automated process you are using is trying to access the item it previously was working on
Why it is not moving on I don't know without actually seeing it but as yu in USA and I am in South africa currently it would be difficult |
Nathan: Did you open a PMR on this? If so could you tell me what IBM had to say.
Thanks _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
no mate i didnt
the reason for the slight "pause" was that the interractions and updates behind the scenes sometimes slowed the response down slightly
in a typical user environment down here the "clicking" against a work item will not be so fast and therefore this error does no occur unless 2 people select a work item from an "unallocated" work list |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Nathan:
Thanks for your help on this.... turns out the problem appears to be just a threading problem on the applications part.
Thanks for the help _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
cool glad all was ok in end |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Hi John,
Quote: |
'turns out the problem appears to be just a threading problem on the applications part'. |
We have also seen this happening in our application. I thought it may be due to concurrency problem. When you said, threading problem, can you please explain a little bit and did you able to over come that?
Thanks,
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Mahesh:
There were multiple threads running and querying for the same workitem, both would find the workitem via the query, but then the second one to try the forcefinish would get the object does not exist error. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Hi John,
I thing, my case is very similar to yours. Several users access the same worklist at the near same time. Well, right now, I think, I can ignore that error
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Mahesh:
Be sure to see the link that Volker Hos recommends above. This is most likely the cause in a case where Worklists are being used. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|