|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Querying based on datastructure elements |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
manoj |
Posted: Mon Feb 25, 2002 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jan 2002 Posts: 237 Location: Virgina
|
Is it possible to query workitems based on my datastructure.
e.g if my datastructure looks like
firstName String
lastName String
formId String
i want to get all the work items in a query based on a ctiteria (or say a filter) : firstName = "John" AND formId = "0001".
The method queryWorkItems() has a filter , but it allows to have only predefined memebers e.g OWNER.
Can i make my datastructure members to something like that of predefined members so that workflow allows me put that in the filter criteria ?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JImmy |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2002 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Feb 2002 Posts: 59 Location: Shanghai, China
|
I guess you can not.
If you really want to query work items with such criteria, you should write your own functions to do that, first query out all the work items using filter such as "NAME LIKE *", then for every work item, get out the data structure in its input container, and get the value of each member in the data structure, if the member name and the member value meet your criteria, you choose this work item as what you want.
Hope that helpful. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Mar 29, 2002 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
You can do what you want using a trick:
Set the container fields into the description(%firstName% %formID%), then you can filter on the Description (DESCRIPTION = 'John 0001*'). Of course this means that you will now have this data in your description field, but if you are writing your own client, you can always parse it out, or just not display the description at all.
_________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
manoj |
Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2002 6:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jan 2002 Posts: 237 Location: Virgina
|
Thanx John.. This will work but seems to be a workaround. Also sorting on a specific element (say firstName) in the DESCRIPTION will not work if it's not placed in the starting of the DESCRIPTION in the build time..What i mean is sorting is limited to the DESCRIPTION string as a whole. Any comments welcome
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2002 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
You are definitely correct about the sorting. And I said that this was a trick (i.e a workaround), so there are going to be problems. Perhaps we need a requirement to sort on a substring of a sort field.
_________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|