Author |
Message
|
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 2:27 am Post subject: two queue managers or clustering |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
Actually we are planning to use two queue managers on two seperate sun boxes to process our application requests.
How to I manage the message if one of the queue managers/server goes down?
should I write an application that is intelligent enough to handle such a scenario?
your suggestions pls. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Yes code the load balancing intelligence into the application. Clustering will only work if the applications are on the same server as the MQManager and the Application is interacting with the MQManager in BINDING mode. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
I am not sure if I understood your question right... here is what I think
If you are sending messages between these two queue managers, send them as persistent messages. Even if the receiving queue manager goes down, there will be no loss of data (the message will be sitting on the transmission queue).
gurus correct me if I am wrong.
Last edited by Anirud on Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:42 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Anirud wrote: |
I am not sure if I understood your question right... here is what I think
If you are sending messages between these two queue managers, send them as persistent messages. Even if the receiving queue manager goes down, there will be no loss of data (the message will be sitting on the transmission queue).
guru's correct me if I am wrong. |
My guess is that he will have two Application Servers with a Clustered Application and two MQManager Servers in an MQSeries Tier. Applications connecting to MQManagers in Client Mode can't take advantage of any of the benifits of MQClustering. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
I am running weblogic and MQ on a single machine.
My application is deployed in the weblogic.
requests hit the servlet and then my code puts and gets messages from queue.
Here I have a load balanced weblogic but i have individual two MQ Qmgrs one on each server.
how should be the code like.What should be the logic for the code.
Also I have only 1 mainframe which responds to either of the sun machines.
How should I then configure, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
You can setup a new gateway queue manager lets assume it as QM1 to which the weblogic app lication can connect as a client and put the messages. this QM1 is clustered with two qmgrs on solaris boxes having qmgrs QMA and QMB each have a request queue with the same name Q.REQ and this will be visible from QM1. QMA and QMB will be connected to the Mainframe qmgr MQMF.
The Weblogic application connects to QM1 and puts the requests to the cluster queue Q.REQ and it will be sent to QMA or QMB.
So in this case even if one of your qmanager QMA/QMB is down the request will be processed by the other queue manager. and also the both the queue managers can be used for load balancing. _________________ siliconfish |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
But I do not have clustering.I have one Qmgr on each machine then how will I take up the task |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
ok - I have a question? What do you mean by load balanced weblogic app server. can you provide a brief explanation? Are you using hardware clustering like veritas to load balance weblogic?
If you are using hardware clustering for weblogic, u can do the same for MQ also.
Also let me explain what I understood about your architecture.
You have a SolarisA and SolarisB each of them have a Weblogic app server and an MQ Server. Both of the queue managers on solars are connected to Mainframe queue manager. correct me if I am wrong. _________________ siliconfish |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Manikandan |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 78
|
yes you are right,
there are two solaris boxes with both the machines running weblogic and MQ series.
With here the weblogic is load balanced and I will be hitting the application deployed on weblogic.
But my MQ is not load balanced,the two servers have standalone MQ installations and they have one Queue Manager configured each.
Now how will I make my application choose if the first queue manager is not present.
Also,I have one mainframe running at the back to serve the MQ requests from the other end. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 11:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
You would have used Load Balancing with a Proxy Plug-in or hardware load balancing solution for Weblogic.
The load balancing has to be done in the same way for MQSeries also.
Use clustering as I have mentioned in my earlier post for load balancing.
If you are looking for failover support in MQ you must use hardware clustering. _________________ siliconfish |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Manikandan wrote: |
yes you are right,
there are two solaris boxes with both the machines running weblogic and MQ series.
With here the weblogic is load balanced and I will be hitting the application deployed on weblogic.
But my MQ is not load balanced,the two servers have standalone MQ installations and they have one Queue Manager configured each.
Now how will I make my application choose if the first queue manager is not present.
Also,I have one mainframe running at the back to serve the MQ requests from the other end. |
Well I am not a WebLogic Programmer so I really can't help much the code. Like I said before. If the application is connecting as a Client from a remote server clustering the MQManagers becomes a moot point.
A work around that I have seen is to Load Balance at the Web-Tier so that each application gets 50% of the traffic (round robin). Then point the Application on Server A to QMGR_A and the Application on Server B to QMGR_B. Relying on the application for load balancing and giving redundancy of having two data threads so if Application A or QMGR_A fails or needs to be taken down to facilitate a Change Application B and QMGR_B can continue to process. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
siliconfish wrote: |
You can setup a new gateway queue manager lets assume it as QM1 to which the weblogic app lication can connect as a client and put the messages. this QM1 is clustered with two qmgrs on solaris boxes having qmgrs QMA and QMB each have a request queue with the same name Q.REQ and this will be visible from QM1. QMA and QMB will be connected to the Mainframe qmgr MQMF.
The Weblogic application connects to QM1 and puts the requests to the cluster queue Q.REQ and it will be sent to QMA or QMB.
So in this case even if one of your qmanager QMA/QMB is down the request will be processed by the other queue manager. and also the both the queue managers can be used for load balancing. |
Yeah except, using a Gateway MQManager sets up a single point of failure.
If QM1 goes down. Both applications loose connectivity to the Mainframe because AppServer A and B can't get the messages to QMA or QMB. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|