Author |
Message
|
roobas |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:30 am Post subject: setting up MQClient |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
Hello,
Can anyone advise me on how to set up MQ Client without a Client installation. Can we set the server at the environment variables and access the server to get and put messages using API which will server as the MQClient?
Is there any pdf I should look into for setting MQClient as such.
Thanks in advance.
Roobas |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You have to install some sort of MQ Client in order to make a client connection.
There's no way around that.
There is an entire manual dedicated to Clients. It's called, oddly enough, "WebSphere MQ Clients". _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
roobas |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
i'm having a mq server in one box. do i need a local client installation to access that server from another box?
i can set mqserver = client connection channel/TCP/connection name(port) at the environment variables in the 2nd box. use mqjava api's to connect to server? is client installation a must?
can i set mqserver at the script level?
please advise me. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
You have to install some sort of MQ Client in order to make a client connection.
There's no way around that. |
_________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
roobas |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
thanks jefflowrey. i got it. but can i know what you mean by some sort of MQClient? other than a pure client instalation, is there any other way of having a mq client? please advise. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
roobas wrote: |
thanks jefflowrey. i got it. but can i know what you mean by some sort of MQClient? other than a pure client instalation, is there any other way of having a mq client? please advise. |
I say "some sort of MQClient" because, technically, there are two or three.
There is the plain regular MQClient, there is the Extended Transactional Client, and there is the Java MQ API classes - which is a full java implementation of the MQ Client.
But you have to install one of these to make a client connection.
You can't write your own MQ Client, you can't install something else that acts as an MQ client other than one of those three things. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
roobas |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
so if i have the java MQ api classes which are .jar files, it will serve as MQClient, right? my focus was on that. thanks a lot.
what are extended transactional clients? any link to have a quick look at the different types of clients? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Quote: |
"jefflowrey You can't write your own MQ Client, you can't install something else that acts as an MQ client other than one of those three things. |
Well, I suppose he could write his own MQ Client. But then if he could do that, would he be asking these sort of questions on this Forum? _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
roobas |
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
if i'm told to use cgi perl scripts from MQCONN to MQCLOSE where i will be sending and getting the messages how will i proceed? what can i use as mqclient other than pure installation?
if i'm doing it using mqjava api's, i know we can download ma88 classes which will serve as the mqclient. but if i go for perl scripts how will i attain the same.
infact my real need is that. please advice me asap. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
roobas |
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 12:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 Posts: 11 Location: bangalore
|
if i'm told to use cgi perl scripts from MQCONN to MQCLOSE where i will be sending and getting the messages how will i proceed? what can i use as mqclient other than pure installation?
if i'm doing it using mqjava api's, i know we can download ma88 classes which will serve as the mqclient. but if i go for perl scripts how will i attain the same.
infact my real need was that. please advice me asap. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 4:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
If you want to use the Perl APIs, then you have to install the regular MQ Client.
roobas wrote: |
can i set mqserver at the script level? |
MQServer is an environment variable. You can set it at whatever level you know how to set environment variables. There are even functions in various languages that let you set and get environment variables from within a program.
I suggest you ask your system administrator for specific help about this specific problem. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|