Author |
Message
|
mquser1 |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 6:50 am Post subject: Passing data from a request flow to response flow |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 Posts: 23
|
Hi all,
I have a request flow that takes in a CWF MRM message as input and outputs another cwf mrm message out to a third party system. The third party system processes that message and sends a response message, which is picked up by my response flow. Now the question is that there are 2 data fields from the mrm message of my request flow, that I would need in my response flow to construct the output message. Would I have to store those fields in a database in the request flow and then get them during the response flow? Or is there any other way of doing this without using the database.
Thanks in advance for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanson |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 344 Location: IBM Hursley
|
I think your 3 choices are:
- Database
- MQ headers (assuming that the 3rd party app is well-behaved)
- The 3rd party message itself (if some of the input message is copied by the app to the output message - unlikely) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
You can also store the data in a queue, and use the MQGET plugin node to retrieve the data in the reply flow. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bhawesh |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 Oct 2002 Posts: 8 Location: NJ-NY-CT (USA)
|
You may also explore aggregation nodes to fan-out and fan-in, though little more complex than the other solutions already suggested. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fitzcaraldo |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 5:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 05 May 2003 Posts: 98
|
The other thing you need to think about in this situation are the reply queue details (QMGR, QUEUE). Unless they are fixed, you need to store these somewhere as well so the broker can send the reply message back to the correct queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nizam |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 160
|
shanson,
Could u throw some light on using the MQ Headers option.
Thanks
Nyzam |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
You can either use existing fields (unused) in MQMD header or use user data portion in MQRFH header. In either case you need to make sure 3rd party app is well-behaved, that means it will not change passed info in these fields. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
solomita |
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 06 May 2003 Posts: 94
|
We are in a similar situation with trying to preserve data but throughout an aggregation flow and no changes can be made on the mainframe. It was recommended to use MQMD.ApplOriginId to set the value but once the message is picked up by the mainframe, the data in the MQMD.ApplOriginId is "lost" and becomes NULL. Apparently there is some flag that needs to be set to prevent this from happening but as I said, we are not allowed to make changes to the mainframe.
The data that we need to preserve as mentioned above is the CorrelId.
In the response portion of the aggregation flow in a compute node before the AggregateReply, if we set the ApplOriginId = CorrelId before setting the CorrelId = MsgId, will the ApplOriginId value be preserved through the rest of the response portion of the aggregation including the BAGGREGATE table that the messages sit to await the fan-in completion? Or will the ApplOriginId be reset to NULL once again? _________________ IBM Certified Specialist - WebSphere MQ Integrator
IBM Certified System Administrator - WebSphere MQ V5.3
IBM Certified System Administrator - WebSphere Business Integration Message Broker V5 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
I think it will retain the value. Did you try testing the value? _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|