Author |
Message
|
tso0rxp |
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:40 am Post subject: channel not autostarting |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 07 Jan 2002 Posts: 85
|
I just started having this issue. MQ running on this server for over a year. I think it is a config change I made.
First Question: Can I have 2 sender channels on 1 queue manager...each pointing to a different queue manager on 2 different servers using the same port number?
Example:
Sender channel : qmgr1.qmgr2 (over port 1417)
Sender channel : qmgr1.qmgr3 (over port 1417)
If I start the channel manually it runs OK. When I drop data in a remote queue (transmission queue starts channel) it does not autostart the channel and I have to manually start it.
Thanks. _________________ Bob Perry
MQ Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
offshore |
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 222
|
tso0rxp,
That is a valid setup. There is no obvious reason that wouldn't work.
Is the trigger on the xmitq defined correctly?
respectfully,
offshore |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tso0rxp |
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 07 Jan 2002 Posts: 85
|
Thanks for pointing me to that, offshore.
My remote queue was modified incorrectly when I set up the new channel! It wasn't pointing to the transmission queue.
All is well. _________________ Bob Perry
MQ Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tso0rxp |
Posted: Tue May 11, 2004 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 07 Jan 2002 Posts: 85
|
Now that I upgraded my test queue manager to v5.3 the triggering of the channels has stopped functioning. I have to manually start them or keep them running all the time. The prod queue manager is still 5.2 and triggering works fine. Is there something I should be aware of in v5.3?? _________________ Bob Perry
MQ Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tkane |
Posted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 23 Dec 2002 Posts: 82 Location: Kansas City
|
I haven't had any problem with the thousands of channels on my boxes that we have converted from 5.2 to 5.3 so I don't think thats it.
What I'd recommend is that you have a standard template for defining channel pairs and stick with it then you should have no problem.
It solves the problem of typos and forgetting the initq or the trigdata. We primarilly have unix and mvs queue managers.
Here's what we use:
Code: |
*-------------------------------------------------------------------- *
* Create XMIT queue to MQxx
*-------------------------------------------------------------------- *
def ql(MQxx) usage(xmitq) trigger defpsist(yes) replace +
descr('Transmit queue to test MVS - MQxx') +
trigdata('MQyy.TO.MQxx') +
initq('SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ') +
MAXDEPTH(50000)
*-------------------------------------------------------------------- *
def qremote(SYSQQR.TEST) +
rname(SYSQQL.TEMP) +
rqmname(MQxx) +
descr('Remote to any qmgr to test connectivity- chg qmgr as needed') +
xmitq(' ') +
defpsist(no) replace
*-------------------------------------------------------------------- *
* Create sender and receiver channel to MQxx - Test System
*-------------------------------------------------------------------- *
def chl(MQyy.TO.MQxx) +
chltype(sdr) trptype(tcp) discint(600) +
conname('hostname(1414)') convert(no) +
descr('Channel for messages to test MVS - MQxx') +
xmitq(MQxx) seqwrap(999999999) replace
def chl(MQxx.TO.MQyy) +
chltype(rcvr) trptype(tcp) replace +
descr('Channel for messages from test MVS - MQxx') +
seqwrap(999999999)
|
Good Luck
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Hi,
I'm a little picky. I know the default for TRIGTYPE is 'FIRST' but I like to specify it.
Code: |
DEF QL(MQxx) +
DEFPSIST(YES) +
MAXDEPTH(50000) +
DESCR('Transmit queue to test MVS - MQxx') +
TRIGGER +
TRIGTYPE(FIRST) +
TRIGDATA('MQyy.TO.MQxx') +
INITQ('SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ') +
USAGE(XMITQ) +
REPLACE
|
That's my 2 cents.
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tso0rxp |
Posted: Tue May 11, 2004 11:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 07 Jan 2002 Posts: 85
|
Thanks for the details.
My definitions matched your examples. I ended up recycling the queue manager and now the channels autostart. Previously I had them always on so it required a recycle to pick up the config changes. I'm going to run a few more tests to make sure I did this right.  _________________ Bob Perry
MQ Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
any2xml |
Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 3:38 pm Post subject: Channel dropping out.. MQ 5.3 on Linux |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 18 May 2004 Posts: 42
|
I have similar problem. My init script starts queue manager and channels (send and receive). But the send channels don't stay up. I dont see any parameters that seem to affect it.
I understand that my 'receive' channel is inactive and wakes up when a message arrives. But my send channel should stay up indefinitely.
Please help me identify the problem
My send queue and channel definitions:
Transmit Q:
Code: |
DESCR(WebSphere MQ Default Local Queue)
PROCESS( ) BOQNAME( )
INITQ( ) TRIGDATA( )
CLUSTER( ) CLUSNL( )
QUEUE(XYZT.ABCD.XMITQ) CRDATE(2004-04-29)
CRTIME(08.01.45) ALTDATE(2004-06-03)
ALTTIME(16.48.05) GET(ENABLED)
PUT(ENABLED) DEFPRTY(0)
DEFPSIST(NO) MAXDEPTH(5000)
MAXMSGL(4194304) BOTHRESH(0)
SHARE DEFSOPT(SHARED)
HARDENBO MSGDLVSQ(PRIORITY)
RETINTVL(999999999) USAGE(XMITQ)
TRIGGER TRIGTYPE(FIRST)
TRIGDPTH(1) TRIGMPRI(0)
QDEPTHHI(80) QDEPTHLO(20)
QDPMAXEV(ENABLED) QDPHIEV(DISABLED)
QDPLOEV(DISABLED) QSVCINT(999999999)
QSVCIEV(NONE) DISTL(NO)
DEFTYPE(PREDEFINED) TYPE(QLOCAL)
SCOPE(QMGR) DEFBIND(OPEN)
IPPROCS(1) OPPROCS(1)
CURDEPTH(0)
|
Remote Q:
Code: |
DESCR( ) RNAME(BBS.BOR.INBOUND)
RQMNAME(ABCD_MQP2) XMITQ(XYZT.ABCD.XMITQ)
CLUSTER( ) CLUSNL( )
QUEUE(XYZT.ABCD.RMTQ) ALTDATE(2004-04-29)
ALTTIME(13.00.57) PUT(ENABLED)
DEFPRTY(0) DEFPSIST(NO)
SCOPE(QMGR) DEFBIND(OPEN)
TYPE(QREMOTE)
|
Send Channel:
Code: |
CHANNEL(XYZT.ABCD_MQB1) CHLTYPE(SDR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
XMITQ(XYZT.ABCD.XMITQ) MCANAME( )
MODENAME( ) TPNAME( )
BATCHSZ(50) DISCINT(6000)
SHORTRTY(10) SHORTTMR(60)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
SCYEXIT( ) SEQWRAP(999999999)
MAXMSGL(4194304) CONVERT(NO)
SCYDATA( ) USERID( )
PASSWORD( ) MCATYPE(PROCESS)
CONNAME(125.132.25.135(1414)) HBINT(300)
BATCHINT(0) NPMSPEED(FAST)
SSLCIPH( ) BATCHHB(0)
LOCLADDR( ) KAINT(AUTO)
MCAUSER( ) ALTDATE(2004-04-29)
ALTTIME(12.57.32) SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( )
|
_________________ A Perl Hacker
http://www.goreliance.com
http://www.any2xml.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Quote: |
But my send channel should stay up indefinitely.
|
No, the SNDR channel stays up only while it has messages to send. Any time it has no more messages to send, it looks to the DISCINT value, which tells it how many seconds to wait before going INACTIVE. You have it set to 6000 seconds. So if no message arrives on this channel in 6000 seconds, the channel will go INACTIVE, which is not a bad thing if you have the channel set up so that it automatically triggers the next time a message lands on the XMITQ. An INACTIBE channel is not consuming resources, nor is it vulnerable to minor network blips or outages.
Now that channel triggering and starting up will take some time (maybe a second or 2), so if you have applications that need the messages to zoom as fast as possible, maybe you want the channel to stay up. In that case, just code a bigger value in DISCINT that will cover the longest possible time there will be no messages (like maybe a long weekend). I guess you could code 0, which means never go INACTIVE. (0 is the "biggest" #).
But really, do you need a channel RUNNING all the time if it sends 1 message a year? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
any2xml |
Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:04 pm Post subject: Thanks Peter i.e Cosmo :-) |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 18 May 2004 Posts: 42
|
Thanks for that. These channels would be in constant use when we go live. If it takes a second or so to kick in, that is fine by me. I will look at those params.
Thanks agian! _________________ A Perl Hacker
http://www.goreliance.com
http://www.any2xml.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
any2xml |
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:27 am Post subject: Channel needs to be re-started when inactive |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 18 May 2004 Posts: 42
|
I understood from this thread that an INACTIVE send channel will become active upon receipt of message into the remote queue.
Well that is not happening. The channel needs to be started manually. Perhaps I should zero out the DISCINT parameter? That does not like a neat solution to me. _________________ A Perl Hacker
http://www.goreliance.com
http://www.any2xml.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
A channel will not autostart upon the arrival of a message unless you set up triggering on the XMITQ that feeds that channel. (Trigger OnFirst, channel name to be started in Trigger Data, SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ in the Init Queue, Channel Initiator is running). _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|