Author |
Message
|
wfadmin |
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:12 pm Post subject: suspend |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 10
|
hello
i am very new to workflow buildtime. i am trying to have an activity sleep for a few minutes (say 30 minutes). Can this be done in WF? How can I achieve this? I tried looking in buildtime help, but could not find much..I would be thankful for suggestions.
thank you,
John |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Not sure exactly what you are going for but if you can have an Activity Expire after a set time. So You have A ==> B ==> C. You want A to run than want to wait 30 minutes prior to C running. Simply give B an Expiration of 30 minutes, and assign to a user that never logs on. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wfadmin |
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 4:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 10
|
thank you John for your answer.
Let me see if I can also explain a little more here:
Basically what I want is the ability to have a step sleep for sometime?
Code: |
[b]EG. A(normal stuff)===>B(normal stuff)====>C(normal stuff)======>D(call ICS collaboration and wait until it's finished)==========>E (normal stuff) =====>F (normal stuff)[/b] |
What I want to achieve is that when the step gets to step D, I want workflow to wait for sometime before ICS comes back with something.
Is this possible? In looking at your first reply to my post, it seemed like expiration would be a neat thing, however then how would i continue to process when ICS comes back with something? Is there like a sleep program i can in workflow? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed May 05, 2004 4:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Don't use ICS, but it would seem to me that you should be able to make a synchronous call.
Maybe I don't understand. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ratan |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 6:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Jul 2002 Posts: 1245
|
Collaboration with ICS is a UPES call. Make your ICS Upes activity Synchronous. WF will wait untill it gets the reply. _________________ -Ratan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wfadmin |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 9:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 10
|
Thank you John and Ratan.
Ratan,
In using the UPES with a synchonous call, does that mean that there will be a thread open up until we get a response back from ICS. Isn't that a bad thing, if it takes a long, or is workflow capable of that kind of interaction.
Thank you
John |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
manoj |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 30 Jan 2002 Posts: 237 Location: Virgina
|
i don't think there's any thread concept in MQ Workflow as far as mq workflow processes/activities are concerned .. the activity status is stored in the databse.... When a response is put in to workflow UPES the message is correlated with corresponding activity and further processing is done _________________ -manoj |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I agree with Manoj, there is no thread of execution that is running during the time that ICS is processing. The way I understand this interface to work is that we have a "UPES Activity" which sends a message to ICS and when ICS completes it returns a response. During the time that ICS is processing the "UPES Activity" will be in a ready state, and I assume that what ICS responds with is an "ActivityImplInvokeResponse" message, which will then allow the process navigation to continue. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wfadmin |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 11:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 10
|
Thank you everyone for your input.
I now feel much better because for some reason I thought that if there were threads being maintained it wouldn't be very efficient if the ICS took longer than expected and also if the volume was a lot. Thank you to everyone, as I am not clear on this.
The other question I have now is that if i did indeed want to implement a suspend, what is the EASIEST way to do this in wf?
thank you,
John |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 06, 2004 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Assuming you are talking about a "Workflow" activity and not ICS, then there is a Suspend method that can be used to suspend an instance for a period of time _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|