Author |
Message
|
MaheshPN |
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:17 am Post subject: maxmsgl |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Hi Guys,
there are several places where we can change the maxmsgl to handle large chunks of messages. I just wonder, what is the maximum size we can provide.
Is it OS dependent? or MQ restricts it.
I am workin on AIX 5.1 and mqseries 5.3 fixpac 5
Thanks,
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
104857600 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
Thanks jeff, Is it same for Quemanager, Queue and Cannels?
-Mahesh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
crossland |
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 26 Jun 2001 Posts: 248
|
The maximum message length for channels and queues should not exceed the maximum queue length for the queue manager.
Otherwise, for example, there is the risk of an application inquiring on the maximum length for a queue and getting a value which is larger that the maximum length for the queue manager.
Regards,
Tim Crossland
http://www.solent-consultancy.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MaheshPN |
Posted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 21 May 2003 Posts: 245 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Don't forget to modify the MAXMSGL for the SDLQ. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Purposed |
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:17 am Post subject: MAXMSGL(104857600)... do you need to segment the message? |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2005 Posts: 2
|
hi,
what's the impact to the system if we set such a large value (100MB)?
do we still need to segment the message when we sends the message to this queue?
warmest regards,
purposed |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 1:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
Well ,the immediate impact is, that those 100 MB transfer are using a lot of your Network bandwith (Especially talking about WAN connections, LAN connections should be OK).
You might have problems with those big messages being to slow and make small messages wait for them (if you send all messages over the same channel).
If your network is not reliabel, and the transmission of large messages is backed out 50 times, and you have a batch of 50X100MB, you might end up sending the same 5GB 50times (assumed batchsize is 50, NPMSPEED: Normal).
If you don't have allocated enough log file space and you are sending Persistent messages you could run into logfile space issues.
My 2 cents
Sebastian |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vinodsasidharan |
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:35 am Post subject: Another point to be added on Maxmsglength |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Apr 2003 Posts: 47 Location: Norwich
|
Like to add some more points to this
a) The limit is 63 KB ONLY when using shared queues accessed by queue
managers in a QSG.
b) you should make your messages slightly shorter than the value of the
MaxMsgLength attribute in some circumstances. _________________ Vinod sasidharan
Ibm Certfied MQ Admin 5.3
Ibm Certfied MQ Admin 6.0
Ibm Certfied WAS Admin 6.0
Ibm Certfied WMB Admin 5.0
Ibm Certfied Db2 Specialist.
Sun certified Java Programmer.
"Ai carte, ai parte ....................." |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:42 am Post subject: Re: Another point to be added on Maxmsglength |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
vinodsasidharan wrote: |
a) The limit is 63 KB ONLY when using shared queues accessed by queue
managers in a QSG. |
The current version of MQ support 100 MB messages on shared queues. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
I believe the 63KB was changed to 100MB with WMQ v6.0. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Purposed |
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:47 am Post subject: 100MB messages in MQ |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2005 Posts: 2
|
well... i doubt there'll ever be a 100MB message.
basically i just want to put the maximum possible size just to preempt messages that exceeds 4MB.
it's a way to safe guard any issues with respect to receiving large messages bigger than 4MB.
someone told me that when we set the MAXMSGL to 100MB, each time a message is sent, MQ will try to prepare a 100MB temporary space in the filesystem, and this might cause a diskspace issue.
IS THE ABOVE true?
purposed! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:11 am Post subject: Re: 100MB messages in MQ |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Purposed wrote: |
someone told me that when we set the MAXMSGL to 100MB, each time a message is sent, MQ will try to prepare a 100MB temporary space in the filesystem, and this might cause a diskspace issue.
IS THE ABOVE true?! |
I've never heard this, and I doubt that it is true. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
crossland |
Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 26 Jun 2001 Posts: 248
|
Looking at the sys admin guide, the approximate log overhead size to put a persistent message is 750 bytes + message length. However, large messages are divided into segments of 15700 bytes, each with a 300-byte overhead.
Regards,
Tim Crossland
MQ Integration |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|