Author |
Message
|
litlgun |
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:44 am Post subject: Commit time vs Put time |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 6
|
An MQ client program running across a WAN is having a difficult time with performance. The client program can run for more than an hour - and it has a single commit at the end of execution. We see messages come into our local Q that are uncommitted - so we cannot access them. When the client program commits, the Q is released to us & we begin processing. Right now, the PUT time of the first messages reflects the beginning of their program time. We are looking for a way to tell when the message was actually released to us. Is there something in the MQMD header that might give this to us? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
What is the time on your last message? I believe that would be close to the application end time. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
litlgun |
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 6
|
the put time of the last message is seconds before the commit in the client program |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
litlgun |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 6
|
This doesn't answer my question - the messages are unrelated, so we have no idea which is first or last in a batch. This is why we need the commit time to reflect the same across all of these messages. Ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Fix the performance issues of the client application.
Have the client application put some sort of "batch" identifier in each message - in one of the application level fields in the MQMD or in an MQRFH2 header as appropriate.
Write some sort of exit that will adjust the time of each message. But I don't know that even the API exit will let you do this to messages within units of work. You'll be able to see the messages before their committed, but I don't think any of the exits will let you work with a set of messages rather than just one. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
litlgun |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:03 am Post subject: MQMD identifier by batch |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 6
|
Sadly, I can't change their program or ask them to. Such is the fun of client business.
I will ask for the batch identifier - great idea. This is all just a safety measure for when they send a batch over a cutoff time in our system - and end up missing it. Appreciate the help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|