ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » JAVA UPES

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 JAVA UPES « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
DragonFist
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:41 am    Post subject: JAVA UPES Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Hello All
Is there a way where we can write our own UPES in JAVA and use it in workflow. If so , how can we do it...Any suggestions ...

thx in Advance
_________________
DragonFist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

ofcourse. Refer to Programming Guide: XML Message Interface.

Ask if you have any specific questions.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DragonFist
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

i did referred it ratan. we usually define UPES in workflow buildtime to extract the message from the input queue and to invoke a program activity within MQWorkflow. In my scenario, I wrote a program that puts an xml message on the EXEXMLINPUTQ , the workflow picks it up and invokes the corresponding program activity. its all fine for now. We create a UPES in buildtime, by clicking on network tab and FMCSYS and then by selecting NEW UPES server. Instead of this, can we write our own UPES in Java and use it in buildtime. Or am i getting the concept wrong.My boss is eating my head over this. Lemme know if we can do it. If so just guide me to any sample code that might be available to do this. I would appreciate ur help.

Thx in Advance
_________________
DragonFist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Quote:
by clicking on network tab and FMCSYS and then by selecting NEW UPES server. ........

so far you got the concept right.

What happens after that.
Now you have defined a UPES server in buildtime. When you do so, you must specify a Queue Name (and optioanlly a QMGR name which if you don't it will default to the local QMGR).

When you define a workflow process, you identify an activity to be a UPES activity which can be run unattended. You goto the Executon tab of the activity properties and select the UPES.

When you start your process when workflow comes to that activity, an XML message will be put to that queue. The format of the XML message that will be put is explained in the XML interface of the Prog guide. So far everything is same

How you GET the message and PUT a reply is where the difference comes. You use Java or C or COBOL to GET the message and PUT the message is upto you. There is nothing like "own java UPES server". When somebody says that then the GET and PUT programs are written in Java.

Usually you GET the message, do something useful (maybe a database query), populate the output container information and form an appropriate XML message and PUT it in EXEXMLINPUTQ (not the UPES queue).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Quote:
Instead of this, can we write our own UPES in Java and use it in buildtime


If Venny's reply doesnot clear your doubts :-

For Workflow Server UPES is just an MQ Queue/ MQ QM.
Workflow server (Execution Server) put an <ActImpInvoke> XML message in this Queue and if Synchronous waits for the response.

You write a Server which keeps listening to this Queue (in any language that can access MQ Qs), reads the recieved XML, takes corresponding action and reply back <ActImplInvokeResponse> message back to WF.

Bottomline: What you do in buildtime is only specifying where the Invoke message should go to.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

DragonFist wrote:
I wrote a program that puts an xml message on the EXEXMLINPUTQ , the workflow picks it up and invokes the corresponding program activity


Not sure I understand what you are saying here.. for a UPES the Workflow engine generates a message that it puts out on your UPES queue....as Venny and Ratan have said, what you need to do is to write a Listener that listens to the qm/queue you have specified for your UPES and then responds with the proper ActivityImplInvokeResponse message.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jpmorales
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

You might want to check out WA05
http://www-306.ibm.com/software/integration/support/supportpacs/individual/wa05.html

Which is a Java UPES, that helps you with most of the infrastructure code of Queues and XML. If you get it working, that is.
_________________
"Entia non sund multiplicanda praeter necesitatem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
smallsunw
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 1:12 am    Post subject: Java UPES Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 8

I don't understand what is the difference between writing my own Java UPES and using the UPES in buildtime? And if I use a a Java UPES how does the UPES know the program to be executed is a java program(or it must be a java program)?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

There is NO Upes in Buildtime, you always write your own and Register it in Buildtime.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » JAVA UPES
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.