Author |
Message
|
TheDude |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 4:44 pm Post subject: JMS CCSID conversion on PUT |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2002 Posts: 31
|
I am converting an existing App from the IBM Java MQ classes to JMS. The App is running in WAS 5.0 with WebsphereMQ 5.3 and it sends messages to an IBM S/390 TPF mainframe. The "MQ-like" application that runs on the mainframe does NOT do conversions when doing an MQGET like MQSeries does. So, I need to convert the data in my payload, which includes an RFH2 header, before the message is sent to the mainframe and once more when the response arrives.
There doesn't seem to be any way of doing this programmatically as I was able to do with the MQ classes. I have tried setting the CCSID and Native Encoding options in the WAS 5 admin console for the Queue Destinations, but it doesn't work. Also, if I try just setting the CCSID of the Queue Connection Factory in the WAS 5 admin I get the following error when I restart my server:
Error encountered binding the J2EE resource, psQCF, as jms/psqcf from resources.xml
com.ibm.ws.runtime.component.binder.ResourceBindingException: invalid configuration passed to resource binding logic. REASON: Failed to create connection factory
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
The Dude |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rsinha |
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 29 Aug 2003 Posts: 42
|
Have you tried setting the CCSID of the message from within JMS. Before sending the message to the Q, you can set the following property -
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Character_Set", charSet);
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Encoding", charEncoding);
Hope this does it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
neweryoung |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 4
|
rsinha wrote: |
Have you tried setting the CCSID of the message from within JMS. Before sending the message to the Q, you can set the following property -
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Character_Set", charSet);
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Encoding", charEncoding);
Hope this does it. |
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Character_Set", charSet);
outMessage.setStringProperty("JMS_IBM_Encoding", charEncoding);
"charSet" should be what ?
and the "charEncoding"
the same as the ccsid in the string format? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TheDude |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2002 Posts: 31
|
Due to JMS' inability(without being tied directly to the IBM MQ Java classes) to access the MQMD header, it cannot convert binary data without the use of an exit, which in my opinion is no better than just using the base classes.
Thx for all of your input on this matter. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Does your WAS box have MQ Server or Client ???
If Server let the channel do Conversion _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TheDude |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 21 Oct 2002 Posts: 31
|
But in order to do BINARY data conversion you must write an exit. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Is this binary Data in the MQ Headers (MQMD RFH2) you are worried about ????
If so the channel program knows how to convert them from one number format to another. If it is your own data then you are out of luck _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
neweryoung |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 4
|
mrlinux wrote: |
Is this binary Data in the MQ Headers (MQMD RFH2) you are worried about ????
If so the channel program knows how to convert them from one number format to another. If it is your own data then you are out of luck |
I got some trouble seems similar. I'm just out of luck..I have to send a java object .and how can i convert it ,Am i need to wirte a "exit". What's it?It seems to be another trouble.Is there any example for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|