|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
IIB10: Mon Profile - what is xpath to get http input header? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
john.ormerod |
Posted: Wed Dec 23, 2020 7:53 am Post subject: IIB10: Mon Profile - what is xpath to get http input header? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 14 Feb 2017 Posts: 49
|
Hello
I have added an http header to Postman to simulate a Global Txn Id coming from DataPower.
Code: |
X-Global-Transaction-ID : 7c4b7c375fe313c400001d50 |
In my Mon Profile, for the HTTP input node 'TxnStart', I want this header to be the Global Txn Id. However, this xpath doesn't work:
Code: |
<p:globalTransactionId p:queryText='$Root/HTTPInputHeader/X-Global-Transaction-ID' p:sourceOfId='query'/>
|
Unfortunately, in the Mon Event msgs, the Global Txn Id is empty.
What do I need to specify in the Mon Profile?
I've searched and searched for an example for an HTTP Input Header without success.
The Flow Exerciser shows it to be present
Code: |
<HTTPInputHeader>
<X-Original-HTTP-Command>POST http://localhost:7080/HTTPInputMessageFlow HTTP/1.1</X-Original-HTTP-Command>
<X-Global-Transaction-Id>7c4b7c375fe313c400001d50</X-Global-Transaction-Id>
|
i've looked hard for typos and differing case as the cause, but, naturally, I can't see any.
Grateful for any words of wisdom. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abhi_thri |
Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 17 Jul 2017 Posts: 516 Location: UK
|
hi...must admit that i haven't touched xpaths in a while, just wondering whether the it is the hypens in
Code: |
X-Global-Transaction-ID |
that is causing the issue and whether it need to be escaped |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2020 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
abhi_thri wrote: |
hi...must admit that i haven't touched xpaths in a while, just wondering whether the it is the hypens in
Code: |
X-Global-Transaction-ID |
that is causing the issue and whether it need to be escaped |
And here I thought that HTTP / HTTPS did not support a global transaction...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rekarm01 |
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:27 am Post subject: Re: IIB10: Mon Profile - what is xpath to get http input hea |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 1415
|
john.ormerod wrote: |
i've looked hard for typos and differing case as the cause, but, naturally, I can't see any. |
So, is that an uppercase "...-ID"?
john.ormerod wrote: |
Code: |
X-Global-Transaction-ID : 7c4b7c375fe313c400001d50 |
|
Or is it a mixed case "...-Id"?
john.ormerod wrote: |
Code: |
<HTTPInputHeader>
<X-Original-HTTP-Command>POST http://localhost:7080/HTTPInputMessageFlow HTTP/1.1</X-Original-HTTP-Command>
<X-Global-Transaction-Id>7c4b7c375fe313c400001d50</X-Global-Transaction-Id> |
|
If that is not the issue, then try adding a Trace node to display the parsed header, to compare with the desired XPath.
abhi_thri wrote: |
just wondering whether the it is the hypens |
The only constraint is that the name can't start with a hyphen. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
john.ormerod |
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 1:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 14 Feb 2017 Posts: 49
|
Thanks rekarm01
You have spotted what I didn't see: '-Id' (as copied from the Flow Exerciser data) instead of '-ID'. Now I know where to look. It's either my mistake in Postman or IIB has made an executive decision and changed '-ID' to '-Id'.
Let me offer a Happy New Year in addition to my thanks.
As I segued from WAH to HAH, I will resolved in a week's time when my 'holiday' segues back to WAH.
Best regards, John |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
john.ormerod |
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2021 4:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 14 Feb 2017 Posts: 49
|
Resolved:
For a user-defined ('X-Xxx') incoming HTTP header, IIB changes the case of the letters after the final '-' to be: 'Uxxx' (i.e first letter is upper case, the rest are lower case.
For example, if the incoming header ends with '-xSPqR', it will be seen by the HTTP Input node as: '-Xspqr'.
Can anyone explain why IIB takes it upon itself to make this change? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|