ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ SecurityQueue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue

Post new topicReply to topic
Queue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
krypton
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:11 pm Post subject: Queue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 166

Hi, in Z/OS If we have permission of PUT on TARGET Queue, do we need not require permission on corresponding ALIAS Queues?

Also, is vice versa also true?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:07 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8210
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Its the first object name MQOPENed that is tested for authority.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:31 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 859
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand



You ONLY need permission on the queue your application names in the MQOPEN. This is the same on z/OS and on distributed platforms.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:23 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7476

hughson wrote:


You ONLY need permission on the queue your application names in the MQOPEN. This is the same on z/OS and on distributed platforms.

Cheers,
Morag


Unless the application also names a Destination Queue Manager in the MQOD on the MQOPEN call that is not the local queue manager.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:26 am Post subject: Re: Queue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19816
Location: LI,NY

krypton wrote:
Hi, in Z/OS If we have permission of PUT on TARGET Queue, do we need not require permission on corresponding ALIAS Queues?

Also, is vice versa also true?

You're only talking about permissions but I get the feeling that you are mixing permissions and put enabled state.

Allowing for the permissions to be right, both alias and base q need put enabled. The point of the Alias queue is to be able to put disable it while still being able to put to the base queue.
If the base queue is put disabled nothing goes.

But you can check that easily with some experimenting on your own.
Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
krypton
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:55 am Post subject: Re: Queue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 166

fjb_saper wrote:
krypton wrote:
Hi, in Z/OS If we have permission of PUT on TARGET Queue, do we need not require permission on corresponding ALIAS Queues?

Also, is vice versa also true?

You're only talking about permissions but I get the feeling that you are mixing permissions and put enabled state.

Allowing for the permissions to be right, both alias and base q need put enabled. The point of the Alias queue is to be able to put disable it while still being able to put to the base queue.
If the base queue is put disabled nothing goes.

But you can check that easily with some experimenting on your own.
Have fun


Thank you , I was not confused about PUT and permission issue.
I know they are 2 different things, I got wrong information from our mainframe MQ team and that confused me. but now everything is sorted out.
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ SecurityQueue Permission for ALIAS & TARGET queue
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.