ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportPowershell for IBM MQ

Post new topicReply to topic
Powershell for IBM MQ View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
shripadghodke
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:02 pm Post subject: Powershell for IBM MQ Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

Hi,

I am new to IBM MQ and recently installed Powershell with IBM MQ to read certain properties of IBM MQ installed on my server.

I am able to get local Queue Managers using Get-WMQQueueManager command, however when i fire any other command than this powershell is throwing error.

For example: Get-WMQQueue : Index and count must refer to a location within the buffer.

This is really acting as a showstopper as i need to get queue details using PS. Can someone please help me with this?

Thanks
Shripad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

There are otherways to get Queue Details or are you tasked to use only PowerShell?

Did you look at the documentation supplied with the support pack to see what features are supported by the Support Pack?

Personally, using Powershell would be about 4 on my list of 4 ways to get Queue Details.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shripadghodke
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:07 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

Hi,

Thank you for your reply. Yes, we need to use powershell only to get this information.

I have followed all the support documentation for MO74. I tried on multiple server where MQ is installed.....still no luck!

This is really getting crazy!

Thanks
Shripad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:17 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5870

Which version of MQ are you using?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shripadghodke
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:19 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

exerk wrote:
Which version of MQ are you using?


I tried on versios - 7.5.0.5 & 7.5.0.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 3:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6077
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

you have yet to tell us exactly what is going wrong?
Just saying it does not work won't help us to help you solve you exact problem

Care to explain why you can only use powershell? What is wrong with other methods?
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shripadghodke
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 3:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 11 Jul 2016
Posts: 4

smdavies99 wrote:
you have yet to tell us exactly what is going wrong?
Just saying it does not work won't help us to help you solve you exact problem

Care to explain why you can only use powershell? What is wrong with other methods?



We are building a monitoring tool which uses powershell scripts to various elements of our environment. MQ being one of the critical part of our environment, we would like to monitor various aspects of MQ using powershell.

We will be needing information like, Queue status, queue depth etc.

Please let me know if need any further details!

Thanks
Shripad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 3:42 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Most of these stats can be received using either PCF Request/Response or using Event messages.

I don't know if Powershell is an actively supported development environment for MQ any more.
_________________
chmod -R ugo-wx /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2016 3:46 pm Post subject: Re: Powershell for IBM MQ Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 745
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

shripadghodke wrote:
when i fire any other command than this powershell is throwing error.

For example: Get-WMQQueue : Index and count must refer to a location within the buffer.

I would reiterate the comments made by others before me. Please show us the full command you sent as well as the error you received so we can help further.

mqjeff wrote:
I don't know if Powershell is an actively supported development environment for MQ any more.

I don't know either, but it was very recently updated

Support Pac MO74 wrote:
Last updated: 26Jun16

Cheers
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jerry789
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 16 Dec 2016
Posts: 10

I'm getting the same error using these commands

Code:

$qmconndef = New-WMQQmgrConnDef -Name foo -Hostname bar -Port 1414 -Channel baz
$qm = Get-WMQQueueManager -Connections $qmconndef
Get-WMQQueue -Qmgr $qm


Please advise
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportPowershell for IBM MQ
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.