Author |
Message
|
zpat |
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:51 am Post subject: MQ explorer hangs |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
MQ explorer 7.1.0.7
I find when using MQ explorer with a large list of queue managers (even if none of them are connected), that it hangs a lot.
This has always been a weakness of MQ explorer - but I seem to remember that it helped to increase the JVM maxheapsize or something like that.
Can anyone tell me how to do this for MQ explorer (the one that comes with a full Windows MQ install)?
Any other tips to improve the reliability/performance of MQ explorer would be appreciated. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I can appreciate where you are coming from. At least (in my experience) it is better than the WAS Console.
Sadly, (AFAIK) both are Java/Eclipse based apps and the performance for large data sets is not going to be brilliant.
Going to a web based managmement app is IMHO not the way to go. The dataset has to be stored and worked on somewhere.
(come back MBXExplorer, all is forgiven) _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The issue you describe - a slow down when using an Eclipse workspace with a large number of queue managers is an issue with available memory.
While I can not "recommend" it, nor can I say in any way that it may or may not be supported....
In the MQ Bin folder there is an "MQExplorer.ini" file. You can add something like
Code: |
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M |
or other JVM or eclipse command line options. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx /
Last edited by mqjeff on Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:50 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ...
Ah yes - MQExplorer.ini - that was the place to change it!
Would this be OK?
_________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
zpat wrote: |
Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ... [/code] |
 _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dougdrak |
Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 4:32 pm Post subject: Help me increase the memory to MQExplorer |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 13 Aug 2007 Posts: 5 Location: Davidson, NC, USA
|
MQExplorer.ini contains this: What do I add to increase the memory for the tool?
Code: |
-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222 |
_________________ Doug Drake |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
dougdrak wrote: |
MQExplorer.ini contains this: What do I add to increase the memory for the tool?
-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222 |
mqjeff wrote: |
In the MQ Bin folder there is an "MQExplorer.ini" file. You can add something like
Code: |
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M |
or other JVM or eclipse command line options. |
As I said, add the above - with 512M or 1024M or 104857600M (not a recommended value ) to the end of MQExplorer.ini
So you would have
Code: |
-startup
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
-startup
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.1.1.R36x_v20101122_1400.jar
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\MQExplorer\eclipse\plugins\org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.1.2.R36x_v20101222
../java/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M |
This tells MQExplorer to use the java runtime inside the MQ install, and then tells it to use a maximum of 512M. The more you increase the -Xmx value, the more room MQExplorer has to work with a larger set of objects (qmgrs, queues, etc...)
You have to put this at the end, because the -Xmx is an argument for the java runtime, not for Eclipse... _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx /
Last edited by mqjeff on Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:05 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
zpat wrote: |
Thanks - can you pls change your /cod to /code ...
Ah yes - MQExplorer.ini - that was the place to change it!
Would this be OK?
|
If you want a faster start of the MQExplorer you can set it up like this:
Code: |
-vmargs
-Xmn512m
-Xmx1024m
|
By setting a minimum size of the heap memory you bypass a number of memory allocate calls at startup. It really does speed up startup quite a lot...
And remember -Xms if you need a bigger stack as well...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
@mqjeff,
Ya know, my linix install has this:
Code: |
-vm
/opt/mqm/java/jre64/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M
|
at the end of the file and I think the "-vm" is significant. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
JosephGramig wrote: |
@mqjeff,
Ya know, my linix install has this:
Code: |
-vm
/opt/mqm/java/jre64/jre/bin
-vmargs
-Xmx512M
|
at the end of the file and I think the "-vm" is significant. |
The -vm is not significant in the Heap / Stack respect.
What is more significant is the line following the -vm. It tells the system where to find the executable (java/javaw) to run eclipse with.
As a command line parameter it would look like
Code: |
-vm /opt/mqm/java/jre64/bin |
On windows the location is relative to the MQ bin64 directory:
Code: |
-vm ../java/jre/bin |
The .ini file needs the -vm to determine where to find the executable and the
-vmargs to know which arguments to pass to the executable command line...
A good startup value for the heap to allow for a quick load of the MQE would be -Xms128M. Your mileage may vary...
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
k_usa |
Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 14 Aug 2006 Posts: 42 Location: NewJersey
|
I had the same issue with 7.5 Explorer
The only solution that worked for me is installing WMQ8 Explorer. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
The other solution, if you value your RAM at all, is just not to use Java  _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|