Author |
Message
|
Paras_sachdeva |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:12 am Post subject: Cache refresh mechanism in wmb 7.0.0.4 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2016 Posts: 5
|
Hi Team,
We are using WMB 7.0.0.4 and are implementing cache mechanism using ESQL functions. We are using putIntoNamedCache() and getFromNamedCache() to put and retrieve the data in cache.
I want to know how can i refresh the cache after a certain interval using any ESQL function. The scenario is to execute a query on database and store the results in cache. How do i make the process of refreshing the cache automatic.
All suggestions are welcome. Please feel free to correct the approach, if needed.
Many thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:33 am Post subject: Re: Cache refresh mechanism in wmb 7.0.0.4 |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Paras_sachdeva wrote: |
We are using WMB 7.0.0.4 and are implementing cache mechanism using ESQL functions. We are using putIntoNamedCache() and getFromNamedCache() to put and retrieve the data in cache. |
What cache? The internal cache supplied with the product wasn't supplied with the version you quote. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Paras_sachdeva |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2016 Posts: 5
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Paras_sachdeva wrote: |
We have implemented IA91 SupportPac for cache. |
So you've implemented a 4 year old support pac on a out-of support version of the broker that's not even at the most recent maintenance before it went out of support? Awesome solution design.
Paras_sachdeva wrote: |
What I need to know is where do i set the parameters for automatically refreshing the cache. |
As described on page 28 of the document you posted the link to I'd imagine. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
What do you mean by "automatically refreshing the cache"?
You mean, having it automatically re-read new data from somewhere?
The options for doing that are described in the doc you pointed at. I personally don't see any functions it has for doing that.
So you will have to figure out some way to tell it to reload data, and then use one of the mechanisms mentioned to load the data.
Or, instead, you could migrate to a supported version of IIB and use the builtin global cache functions. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Paras_sachdeva |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Aug 2016 Posts: 5
|
Yeah we are working on a very older version and will be migrating to IIB 10 soon. In the meantime, what i was looking for is the ESQL function that can load the table from database in cache and then refreshes the cache after certain period of time.
Currently we reload the Execution group(EG) to reflect the changes but how do we automate this so that we do not have to reload the EG . |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 10:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There's an esql function to read data from a database.
There are esql functions provided by the out of support cache to insert data into the cache. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|