Author |
Message
|
deecee |
Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:39 am Post subject: DFDL deployment crashes execution group IIB v9001 |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Hi,
I have a large complex DFDL with choice elements and discriminators and the whole jazz.
When ever I deploy this into my linux runtime environment for IIB v9001, the execution group crashes and abort files are written which have values like 'DFDLParser14parseLastChildEP16ImbSyntaxElement'
The same interface can be deployed on windows for IIB v900 and it runs fine.
Is this a known issue? Is there some work around for this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Have you tried to do the deployment with later IIB 9 Fixpacks installed?
A defect might have been included in the 9001 that was later rectified in a later FixPack _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
No, it's in my QA environment and I need to find solid reasons before upgrading fix pack
Would I have to make any specific changes to the DFDL when I move from windows to Linux? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
deecee wrote: |
No, it's in my QA environment and I need to find solid reasons before upgrading fix pack  |
If the fixpack solves the problem in your test/development environment, that is a solid reason to upgrade the QA...
deecee wrote: |
Would I have to make any specific changes to the DFDL when I move from windows to Linux? |
You shouldn't. Deployment should handle and hide all that stuff from you. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Is there a limit to the DFDL size one can use like a good practice?
I am wondering if the RAM isn't enough to handle the DFDL I am deploying because I have selected 'Immediate' parsing.
I am still investigating the issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The size of the DFDL model is definitely a consideration. But it won't change if you're using immediate parsing or not.
The size of the message is much more important when using immediate parsing... _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
The size of the individual message isn't very big but because the DFDL has to handle many different types of messages, the DFDL size is increasing with every new message that it has to handle. ( Currently there are 11 type of messages and this can go upto 50 different types )
Because many segments are common across various messages, I am unable to spit the DFDL.
Are there any different ways I can do this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Looks to me like your parser doesn't get released between messages?
Anyways you should upgrade to at least 9.0.0.3 or higher as there were a number of DFDL patches in the early releases of 9.0.0...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You can certainly put different parts of a DFDL model into separate files.
You have to then include them... look at a sample CSV DFDL model - it links to the default CSV DFDL model.
So you could put your common structures in one file and include them in others. But this isn't going to fundamentally change the size of the overall parser model.
As FJ says, review your code for how it handles messages and update to the most recent FP of IIB v9. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
timber |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 25 Aug 2015 Posts: 1292
|
Does it fail during deployment, or when parsing/writing a message?
You mention 'segments' which makes me think that your model is probably an EDI or X12 message. DFDL has many features that promote reuse; which of those feature are you using to reduce the size of your DFDL xsds? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
It fails during deployment.
It's a GIF formatted message from Legacy.
Timber, I am not sure what you mean by reusable features. I have just created one DFDL with all the segments in it. I keep adding new segments as I get messages with additional segments in them.
How do I reduce the size of the DFDL? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
timber |
Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 25 Aug 2015 Posts: 1292
|
Quote: |
It fails during deployment. |
In that case, the obvious thing to try is an increase in the JVM heap size on the execution group (integration server). What is the current setting?
Quote: |
It's a GIF formatted message from Legacy. |
The only GIF format that I have heard of is an image format. You will need to provide a few more details if you want me to do anything with that information.
Quote: |
Timber, I am not sure what you mean by reusable features. I have just created one DFDL with all the segments in it. I keep adding new segments as I get messages with additional segments in them. |
I'm talking about any or all of:
- using DFDL formats to avoid repeating the same DFDL property settings on many elements
- putting DFDL properties onto simple types instead of repeating them on every element that uses the type
- using XSD features like element references instead of repeating the same structures throughout your XSD.
However, if you have not tried increasing the JVM heap size then that is the first thing you should try. Set it to at least 1Gb. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deecee |
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 11 Sep 2014 Posts: 51
|
Thank you everyone, it was a JVM issue!
The environment had way too many execution groups, and when those were deleted, this started to work.
But I didn't see any out of memory errors in syslog or service trace so I didn't realize it was a memory problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|