Author |
Message
|
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
OK I found the solution to my question:
In the Trace node I added the following. Its not pretty but it spits out the XML as a nice string.
${CAST(ASBITSTREAM(Root.XMLNSC OPTIONS FolderBitStream CCSID 1208) AS CHAR CCSID 1208 ENCODING 0)}
Now it would be even better if I could have the following:
1) Pretty print
2) A single function in the Trace node I could call (e.g. XMLSC_TO_STRING(...)) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
In the Trace node I added the following. Its not pretty but it spits out the XML as a nice string.
${CAST(ASBITSTREAM(Root.XMLNSC OPTIONS FolderBitStream CCSID 1208) AS CHAR CCSID 1208 ENCODING 0)} |
Interesting and I'm always a fan of new knowledge. It'll never replace a proper logging framework but I can see some uses.
sleepyjamie wrote: |
Now it would be even better if I could have the following:
1) Pretty print
2) A single function in the Trace node I could call (e.g. XMLSC_TO_STRING(...)) |
Then write that here; if enough people agree with you, you may well get it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
Agreed. It would be nice if you could plug a custom logging framework into message broker. I guess in IIBv10 this is likely possible with the introduction of custom plugins. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
inMo |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 27 Jun 2009 Posts: 216 Location: NY
|
This has been an interesting thread. While on the topic, is the rule that any single ESQL expression can be executed, or does the ${} allow for the evaluation of a series of statements. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Each ${} must resolve to one expression, but you can have multiple ${} in the trace node (as many as you like). Statements are not allowed at all in the trace node.
Kind regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
Vitor wrote: |
sleepyjamie wrote: |
In the Trace node I added the following. Its not pretty but it spits out the XML as a nice string.
${CAST(ASBITSTREAM(Root.XMLNSC OPTIONS FolderBitStream CCSID 1208) AS CHAR CCSID 1208 ENCODING 0)} |
Interesting and I'm always a fan of new knowledge. It'll never replace a proper logging framework but I can see some uses.
sleepyjamie wrote: |
Now it would be even better if I could have the following:
1) Pretty print
2) A single function in the Trace node I could call (e.g. XMLSC_TO_STRING(...)) |
Then write that here; if enough people agree with you, you may well get it. |
Done. https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/rfe/execute?use_case=viewRfe&CR_ID=76271 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
I guess in IIBv10 this is likely possible with the introduction of custom plugins. |
User Defined nodes have been around for a while, and I'm looking at one in my IIBv9 set up now.
Do you mean something different (and another thing I don't know about)? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
IIRC from Hursley these are custom nodes that will appear in the node panel? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
IIRC from Hursley these are custom nodes that will appear in the node panel? |
Yes. I always have the most trouble drawing the little icons. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
IIRC from Hursley these are custom nodes that will appear in the node panel? |
Yes, if you build a custom node, you can build two pieces. A runtime piece and a toolkit piece.
If you *really* felt like it, you could build the runtime piece without the gui piece. But I'm not sure how you would cause your plugin to actually be used... (if it's not in the palette, it's not in the flow... ) _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|