Author |
Message
|
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:15 pm Post subject: Unit testing a node? |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
I want to unit test a function within an ESQL node that performs a transformation. Does WMB Toolkit allow you to do this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There's no method to execute ESQL code outside of the runtime.
Unless v10 has added this - I've not done much with v10.
For this kind of thing, I always make a very simple flow that uses MQInput/MQOutput and has a compute node that creates a fixed (or set of fixed) input messages. Or, of course, you could send a fixed/known message or set of messages to the input node. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
There's no method to execute ESQL code outside of the runtime.
Unless v10 has added this - I've not done much with v10.
For this kind of thing, I always make a very simple flow that uses MQInput/MQOutput and has a compute node that creates a fixed (or set of fixed) input messages. Or, of course, you could send a fixed/known message or set of messages to the input node. |
Yeah that's what I guessed was to use an mq input/output node. Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Cool!
As I said, I haven't worked with v10 very much. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Cool!
As I said, I haven't worked with v10 very much. |
The flow exerciser is cool (and my experience is likewise somewhat limited).
It doesn't do exactly what the OP originally wanted; you can't take a function outside of the module and just test that. But it does revolutionize testing a single flow, and that includes a single flow that's the kind of harness described here to test a function. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|