Author |
Message
|
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:17 am Post subject: Docker IIB Toolkit? |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
I've asked this question before and the answer was to install IIB using silent mode, but no response on if a docker container exists.
I want to be able do automated builds of my IIB projects via Jenkins. So basically here is what will happen:
1) Developer pushes code to GIT
2) Jenkins will pull code from GIT
3) Jenkins executes mqsicreatebar and mqsiapplybaroverride
4) XYZ.bar will be created
I have an Ubuntu VM that will be doing the build however it is headless and I haven't installed the toolkit on it yet. Before I proceed I'm wondering if there is a docker container that I can use that will give me access to the mqsi* commands.
I know IBM has been pushing docker a lot lately so I figured I would ask before going through the installation/configuration headache. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
I don't know of any publicly available docker containers that have IIB runtime or IIB toolkit installed on them.
Is there a significant value in this particular case in not installing runtime/toolkit on the Jenkins machine, or on a machine jenkins can execute builds on?
What you might more typically do with docker - at least in my probably poor opinion - for IIB build/deply is put the entire runtime in a docker container, and do a build/deploy on the docker master, and then build the docker image.
Then redeploy the entire docker container, instead of simply deploying bar files to a standalone runtime.
That at least gives you a more recoverable configuration, without having to redeploy and reconfigure an entirely new broker from scratch.
But it might be overkill. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Depending on your deployment method, looking at the fact you won't get the broker api running without having run mqsiprofile... do you really want to have a build /deployment machine without the full stack (runtime + toolkit)?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
I don't know of any publicly available docker containers that have IIB runtime or IIB toolkit installed on them.
Is there a significant value in this particular case in not installing runtime/toolkit on the Jenkins machine, or on a machine jenkins can execute builds on?
What you might more typically do with docker - at least in my probably poor opinion - for IIB build/deply is put the entire runtime in a docker container, and do a build/deploy on the docker master, and then build the docker image.
Then redeploy the entire docker container, instead of simply deploying bar files to a standalone runtime.
That at least gives you a more recoverable configuration, without having to redeploy and reconfigure an entirely new broker from scratch.
But it might be overkill. |
Thanks for the replies!
I was at Hursley last week and they had a lot of lectures on docker. Seems like IBM is pushing it more and more. They have a open technologies github where they have some docker stuff.
I did some searching and the IIBv10 is available as a docker container. https://github.com/ot4i/iib-docker
Out IT department is moving towards docker and ideally just need to align ourselves with them. For example, it's easier for me to provide the IT build folks a docker container than it is to ask them to install IBM stuff. Also IT is trying to consolidate their VMs and docker allows them to isolate each of the teams technologies for performing builds. So they prefer that nothing be installed on the VMs but rather run as docker containers.
Another is that they are very busy so I'm trying to make their life as easy as possible. Also using docker helps us manage IBM's 6-8 week iterative releases. Rather than asking IT to install updates, our team can just provide them a new docker image. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Yep.
I think I know IBM is pushing docker...
Again, it's not clear you would use a docker container to host parts of a build environment - but if it makes sense there as well, then there's no reason not to. As long as you can connect the docker image to the machine running the build.
Otherwise my comments about using a new docker container to deploy instead of using mqsideploy on an existing installation still apply.
You might want to move to a single-eg footprint inside your docker containers, to make it easier to redeploy business level components. Potentially, you could even build separate containers for each EG under a broker - with some complicated drive mapping and an existing setup in your docker build environment. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Yep.
I think I know IBM is pushing docker...
Again, it's not clear you would use a docker container to host parts of a build environment - but if it makes sense there as well, then there's no reason not to. As long as you can connect the docker image to the machine running the build.
Otherwise my comments about using a new docker container to deploy instead of using mqsideploy on an existing installation still apply.
You might want to move to a single-eg footprint inside your docker containers, to make it easier to redeploy business level components. Potentially, you could even build separate containers for each EG under a broker - with some complicated drive mapping and an existing setup in your docker build environment. |
Hehe, touche!
I was hoping IBM already had a pre-built docker container, but probably too early. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
sleepyjamie wrote: |
I was hoping IBM already had a pre-built docker container, but probably too early. |
??
??
The standard IIB v10 install contains both the runtime and the toolkit, so if that is an install of IIB in a docker container, then it has what you're looking for. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
mqjeff wrote: |
sleepyjamie wrote: |
I was hoping IBM already had a pre-built docker container, but probably too early. |
??
??
The standard IIB v10 install contains both the runtime and the toolkit, so if that is an install of IIB in a docker container, then it has what you're looking for. |
ok perfect. i wasnt sure if those were separate. i'll try it out. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srogers |
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 22 Jun 2015 Posts: 2
|
Hi - the project mentioned contains IBM Integration Bus for Developers V10. I'm currently looking at updating it to use 10.0.0.1 and the development team is looking at options on how to provide pre-built images on Dockerhub in the near future. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sleepyjamie |
Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 29 Apr 2015 Posts: 135
|
srogers wrote: |
Hi - the project mentioned contains IBM Integration Bus for Developers V10. I'm currently looking at updating it to use 10.0.0.1 and the development team is looking at options on how to provide pre-built images on Dockerhub in the near future. |
Excellent. I will be trying this out in our IT environment soon. Any findings I will report back. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|